29th November 2011, 11:45 AM
My friend forgot to nominate a free ball other day and i know its a foul if you dont nominate, but the ref fouled him 7 and the black was at the other end of the table nowhere near it and not in sight. i thought it was which ever ball you hit?
Also if the pink and black are the only balls left on the table and a free ball should arise can you just roll upto the black and snooker behind the free ball?
29th November 2011, 12:00 PM
Whether you are choosing a colour after potting a red or a free ball, you can nominate by indication (eg pointing with your hand, or by the direction of your cueing) or declaration (verablly stating). That means it is *not* necessary to verbally state which colour you're on, unless requested to do so by the referee. If you fail to respond when asked, then yes, it will be a foul.
If there is some uncertainlty as to which colour you're going for, then the referee should ask the player to verbally declare, and it is good practice for the player to declare anyway. The referee should never foul a player for not declaring if he hasn't asked him to! In your scenario, it sounds like the foul was probably uncalled for.
Althought s3 rule 109d) states that the penalty shall be 7 points if the player
(v) fails to declare which ball he is on when snookered or when requested to do so by the referee; or
(vi) after potting a Red (or free ball nominated as a Red), commits a foul before a colour has been nominated.
it is generally accepted that the penalty would be limited to the maximum value of the likely ball involved. Thus, if black was at the other end of the table and pink was close to the yellow that is played, then the penalty would be limited to 6 points.
When only pink and black remain on the table, this is the only time that you can snooker behind the nominated free ball.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.