Tip/Cueing advice please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tip/Cueing advice please

Hi all, i know i am only a beginner, having only started to take the game seriously a few months ago, but i feel i am starting to play better and with more confidence since winning my last 3 league games, but my problem is i sometimes feel that i am not getting the reaction from the cue ball that i was expecting, i know that 99.99% of this is me and not the tip or cue, but i sometimes wonder if i am getting enough grip from my tip, i don't miscue very often, so i presume i am striking the ball ok, but i get a weak reaction from the cue ball on screw shots and shots involving side. I was wondering if i should go for a harder or softer tip?, i am using a Century G2 at the moment, and i try and concentrate on pushing the cue through the cb on every shot, so any advice/tips would be appreciated.
    cheers Carpy

Doubt it's the tip. Things it could be- not hitting low enough on screw shots, not cueing with a level cue, not following through far enough. It is much more likely to be one or all of these faults with your action than anything to do with the tip.

Comment

As Mark187187 above I doubt it's the tip. it could be a number of small points which are stopping you getting the ball to come back the way you want i.e. not cueing with a level cue, (I find my cue lifts slightly if I try to accelerate the ball harder than usual which is a fault with my own technique which I'm trying to fix), not following through or not going far enough through the cue ball, again a prime candidate, as is not staying down on the follow through etc.
      It is much more likely to be one or all of these faults with your action than anything to do with the tip. but if all else fails never underestimate the power of positive suggestion which changing a tip can give you!!