can't cue straight

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• can't cue straight

hi all i'm new to the forum,i play pool and the snooker technique has really improved my game however i've been playing for years with a crooked stroke & just can't get rid of it.i changed my elbow placement about 3-4 months ago as my elbow/shoulder were sticking out to my right & i now have my cue arm hidden behind the head and i've tried just about anything but i still can't fix the problem. as you can see in the video i have a little side to side upper arm movement but i just don't know how to cure this..any help would be appreciated.

Welcome! I'm having a similar problem, I've had some good advice from people on here already http://www.thesnookerforum.co.uk/boa...uck-in-a-rut-(

from doing some reading and looking at your video it seems your sighting is slightly off, 7 secs in. Im not an expert by any means but to me (could be massively wrong) the line of the cue from your bridge hand to your grip hand is off so your grip hand will always be shifting from side to side as you're seeing in the video. Again not sure if I am correct on this so apologies but I am sure that there is a coach on here that will look and tell you. In the mean time check out this website I was given, its helped me alot after reading it http://fcsnooker.co.uk/coaching/basi...nd_cue_arm.htm

Comment

thanks for the response.what do you suggest to try in order to fix this?

Comment

excellent question...if your happy with have a cue arm that protrudes to the right (or left from face view) then I would think your grip may be slightly off. The fcsnooker website also helps you with your grip (at the bottom theres a link)
        going off purely anatomical knowledge, if your arm protrudes to the right but your wrist on the grip arm is locked straight with the cue in your fingers naturally your arm will move and wobble so could try adopting a a grip more in the palm of your hand.