Cue action and grip frustration

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cue action and grip frustration

Hi there, I’m new to the forum but wanted to get your thoughts on my question as it’s driving me nuts. I’ll apologise in advance for the essay :-)

I’ve been playing snooker for a few years now (max break of 50 so not prolific) however I recently had some coaching sessions to try and improve my game as I felt I was just stagnating at a certain level. The coaching sessions were great as they highlighted a few things I could improve on one of which was the grip. It’s been a few months now that I’ve kept with my new grip but in truth I’m still no better than I was before.

I think the grip accounts for the majority of my problems hence the cry for help :-).

I create a ring with my thumb and index finger and then the remaining three fingers wrap around the cue very lightly. Pressure wise I’d say the ring is about a 7 with the rest then decreasing. My thumb tends to point down to the floor and I go down in the shot with back of plan resting on the butt too.

Because I felt unsure about this grip I’ve since watched many YouTube videos to get more advice and I think I’ve confused myself on what’s right and wrong. Barry stark says to have a trigger using the third finger, Shaun Murphy says to just pick up the use and that’s your grip and others say different things. The videos from Barry stark showing how the grip hand should look in the backswing look exactly like mine (I’ve videod myself) but it’s not paying any dividens.

I know there’s no golden rule on what’s right or wrong but any help would stop me from going insane.

Thanks.

Something I have been thinking about recently.