Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New cue - Does a 1/4" length make a difference?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New cue - Does a 1/4" length make a difference?

Hello, I'm pretty new to snooker, from the USA, sorry if this is a dumb question.

My current stick is 58", but I just placed an order for a better cue at 58.25" with the idea that it won't make a huge difference in playability and any ferrule/tip drama repairs down the line will keep it closer to 58" length.

Questions are:
    Will I notice the 1/4" (Has anyone here played with both 58" and 58.25")?
    How often do ferrules get replaced and is this a legitimate worry?

Also am about 5'11" - would 58.25" be even better? Sadly am in US and can only imagine what it'll actually feel like.

Thanks!

Im leaning toward sticking with a 58", it's not too late to change the order. Please help me decide if I should!

Comment

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hvgwbpAOpcA

It's difficult to help without seeing you in person, but this is a good clip to start off with.

Comment

Thanks for the reply.

According to this video, 58" cue leaves me fractionally over an inch of cue left behind with a straight armed bridge. Im assuming 58.25" would leave me 1.5-1.75 inches behind in the normal address position.

I suppose for the shots that require a little bit of reach, this isn't a bad thing?

Not to mention, I feel my shoulder flexibility may increase as I play the game more. A lot of fuss to be made over a quarter of an inch, I realize this.

Comment

I notice many pros around my height seem to stick with 58" even, however... though that may be a matter of them training entire lives with such a setup, I'd assume.

Comment

Originally Posted by k9nrad View Post
            Thanks for the reply.