Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New cue for a beginner

I'm new on the forum.
    Looking for some advice on buying a new cue. Been playing snooker for half a year, I'm a newbie, max break 24. I play 2 times a week.
    My choices are limited; Peradon, BCE, Riley and Powerglide machine spliced are the best cues i can find in my country. I don't have other options. And for a beginner like a me a investment in a £150 cue for the moment is nonsense.

My budget is £60.
    My choices are: Peradon Crown £60, Peradon Regal £58, PowerGlide Diamond £58, Powerglide Maxi - £35 includes (is a 5 piece cue set). Or i can make a effort to buy a Powerglide Striker for £90.
    Last edited by gid; 26 March 2011, 09:11 AM.

For that money, I would try and find yourself an old machine spliced cue.

Any BCE cue you will get. The peradon cannon range is in the £60 area but again this is painted and varnished.

The old cues will be better crafted, finished etc etc if you get a good one.

Comment

Is difficult to find such a cue in Romania. Second hand cues as well are hard to find.
      In terms of quality (i know it isn't the best word to associate with those cue makers) which will be the best choice from the list above?

Comment

Could look at the Mastercue tournament machine spliced cue. Craftsman have just had a few come into stock and they are good playing cues, certainly better than any of those you have listed so far. They are £79 plus P&P which could take it to around £100 for delivery in your country. Maybe try and stretch your budget, you only buy a good cue once so it makes sense to invest in something good quality as you will regret buying something that you don't like as you are throwing money away.

Comment

Its odd trying to find a cue on the internet without being able to hold or use it. I want to buy from a local shop to try first the cue.
          The Peradon Tournament, Regal and Crown cues are varnished?