Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Free Ball Question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2018

    Posts
    7
    vCash
    1000

    Default Free Ball Question

    I know that a free ball is called when both sides of the object ball cannot be struck. However what is the rule regarding free ball when the cue ball is potted? Someone told me that both sides of the object ball have to be able to be struck from every position in the D, otherwise it is a free ball.

    -- This message may have been cut off and the rest will only be shown to members. To become a member, Click HERE --




  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Darlington, UK
    This is jrc750's Country Flag

    Posts
    14,391
    vCash
    700

    Default

    No that is NOT true, as long as you can hit a ball on on both sides from ANYWHERE in the D then it's not a free ball

    -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    South West

    Posts
    941
    vCash
    1000

    Default

    That's correct because if the cueball is potted then it can only be placed within the D and the ref will then decide if the ball(s) on can be hit on b

    -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2018

    Posts
    7
    vCash
    1000

    Default

    OK, so i got two contradictory answers...

    -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    South West

    Posts
    941
    vCash
    1000

    Default

    We both give the same answer but in slightly different ways.

    Someone told me that both sides of the object ball have to be able to be str

    -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --
    Last edited by MrRottweiler; 24th February 2018 at 11:57 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Kingston, Ontario
    This is sharkster63's Country Flag

    Posts
    768
    vCash
    1000

    Default

    Good Day, I think this rule says "hit the ball on both sides" it is very hard to understand that it is only used in the context that it is a visual li

    -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --
    I try hard, play hard and dont always succeed, at first.!!!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Berkshire
    This is DeanH's Country Flag

    Posts
    14,843
    vCash
    1000

    Default

    The rule states "both extreme edges" and that reds are considered individually. A red can not be a snookering ball to another red. -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --
    Up the TSF!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2015

    Posts
    471
    vCash
    1000

    Default

    If there is ANY position in the D where the cue ball can be placed such that both extreme edges can be struck then there is no free ball. Just because

    -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Kingston, Ontario
    This is sharkster63's Country Flag

    Posts
    768
    vCash
    1000

    Default

    Good Points Londonlad and DeanH, these rules can be very confusing at first, this site as helped me understand the rules with pictures and rules expla

    -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --
    I try hard, play hard and dont always succeed, at first.!!!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2017

    Posts
    1,054
    vCash
    1000

    Default

    Wouldn't it be more fun to put the CB tight behind the Brown and then put the opponent in -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •