Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Free ball nomination

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Guernsey
    This is guernseygooner's Country Flag

    Posts
    646
    vCash
    1000

    Default Free ball nomination

    In a foul and free ball scenario do you have to nominate the ball you are going for even if obvious?

    Had a quick look at the rules but can't see anything obvious about it

    -- This message may have been cut off and the rest will only be shown to members. To become a member, Click HERE --




  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Berkshire
    This is DeanH's Country Flag

    Posts
    14,736
    vCash
    1000

    Default

    Sec 2.12 Nominated Ball
    (a) A nominated ball is the object ball which the striker declares, or indicates to the satisfaction of the referee,

    -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --
    Last edited by DeanH; 12th September 2018 at 08:57 AM.
    Up the TSF!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Guernsey
    This is guernseygooner's Country Flag

    Posts
    646
    vCash
    1000

    Default

    Thanks Dean. The reason I asked was there have been incidents in local stuff recently where in a no ref situation, the opponent has called a foul afte

    -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Berkshire
    This is DeanH's Country Flag

    Posts
    14,736
    vCash
    1000

    Default

    This is the scenario mentioned earlier
    -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --
    Up the TSF!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    HappyDale
    This is Nifty50's Country Flag

    Posts
    43
    vCash
    1000

    Default

    Mate of mine has a habit of saying "what ball are you going for" when I'm on my back swing. Really annoying.

    -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2015

    Posts
    470
    vCash
    1000

    Default

    At present the rules only require the striker to verbally declare what ball he is on (a) if asked to do so by the referee and (b) if snookered. In all

    -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Guernsey
    This is guernseygooner's Country Flag

    Posts
    646
    vCash
    1000

    Default

    Thanks all, that clears it up

    -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2017

    Posts
    5
    vCash
    1000

    Default

    On a related issue. If I am snookered on the last red and a free ball has been awarded can I nominate the colour that is obstructing the red and play

    -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2015

    Posts
    470
    vCash
    1000

    Default

    -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2017

    Posts
    5
    vCash
    1000

    Default

    So it would be a foul only if I nominated the brown as a plant shot onto the red but, accidentally, miscued and then missed the brown and came off the

    -- You need to be registered to read the rest of this thread, To become a member, Click HERE --

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •