Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Canadian Snooker Table: CanadaBilliards or Olhausen?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Canadian Snooker Table: CanadaBilliards or Olhausen?

I know this is primarily a UK site, but I'm sure a lot of people are either in NA or have an opinion.

After much debate with SWMBO, we have decided on a 5x10 snooker table. A 6x12 would have had 46" on each side and 50" at each end, with unlimited side clearance from the blue down to the black end, and it was felt that changing cues all the time would get old fast.

So the question is, which, if either is better: Olhausen or CanadaBilliards.

thank you for your input

Hello there. I have been playing snooker on and off for 30 years, and I recently returned to Canada from abroad and purchased a Canada Billiards Supreme snooker table.
    I wanted a Joy Chinese 8-ball table (much cheaper, better made and closer to a proper snooker table, in my opinion), but only have a room big enough for a 8'x4' table,
    and the Joy tables only come in 4.5'x9'. From what I have heard, direct from the distributor, Olhausen does not make snooker tables, per-se, but rather shaves the cushions
    of its pool tables to make them appear similar to snooker tables. Canada Billiard, on the other hand, does install proper snooker rails, cushions and pockets. My table cost
    me $10,000 with tax, and I was pleased with the table; however, the fitting was appalling. The fitter did a sloppy job on the pockets (the cloth, wood and leather are not
    flush), installed the middle pockets at inconsistent heights, and literally cut a chunk of leather off one of the middle pockets. Canada Billiard has been good about offering me
    new pockets and rails, no charge, however I have to wait until March to get them. Play-wise, the table is fine. It does not have steel-block cushions though, which one might