Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Practice V. Games/Matches for newbs

Hi,

I'm a snooker player now for 2 years. Since starting as a total newb at the age of 55, I put in many hours a day on the practice table, but I don't see much improvement in my high breaks which are stuck in mid 20s..

My question is, if playing against people, a 'practice partner' is actually a good or useful thing for a beginner, In my view it isn't really and I don't see the point. Snooker is hard enough in and of itself, without having someone to play with just trying to make it even harder for you and stealing half of your practice time on the table.

Most of the games I play in involve really small breaks from both players, usually 6-12, where the colors and some reds end up on the cushions. Even if I get a great chance, I will often burn it, so there is hardly any point to playing a safe game - but players still play safe all the time. The player who is lucky enough to land OK on the higher colors usually steals the game. That's not really snooker, or very enjoyable.

I rekon that you have to have a break up toward 50 before you can play the game to any level of satisfaction, where safety and tactics start to actually mean something.

Practice on the other hand, is much more enjoyable. I can move the white, break the rules, set up real easy shots, pot way more balls, concentrate on specific things.
    In the T practice I'm getting in the 40's on a good day - but I have yet to break 50. In a game I haven't even broke 30.