Modify elk master or blue diamond tips

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Modify elk master or blue diamond tips

Any suggestion to make this tips grip and works better.
    At my place, they burn it for a few second and then pressed it with pliers for several minutes. I have tried this but it does not feel good when hitting the ball. Lots of miss cue and feel too stiff especially when stun the ball. I have a box of elk master and blue diamond which I do not know it is genuine or not and I would like to modify this tip to get the best out of it.

Clamp them in a vice for over a week.

Don't have a vice, use a hammer and hammer em till it heated up. Then installed.

Comment

if the tip is any good this should not be necessary just squeeze your thumb and forefinger nail into the side and pick the one that is hard enough for you.
      https://www.ebay.co.uk/str/adr147

Comment

Some have suggested that Buttermilk and then pressing in a vice works wonders. It's so called the Buttermilk tip.

Personally though, I believe you don't need to do anything to an Elkmaster tip. Just install it. What damages this finicky tip is the cutting, sanding, and preparing.

First off, sand slowly and without generating heat. The heat dries the fibres of the tip and can cause the tip to harden too quickly.
        Secondly, don't burnish the sides when you first install the tip. When the tip beds in, the fibres need to expand somewhere and during the first few sessions, you will see fibres come out of the sides. Cut the tip, sand the edges lightly if you like but don't burnish.

The Elkmaster is a finicky tip but if you tend to it very carefully and don't tear it up, it's an excellent tip that lasts a long time.
        Mayur Jobanputra, Snooker Coach and Snooker Enthusiast
        My Snooker Blog: www.snookerdelight.com

Comment