Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

free ball question

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • free ball question

    Just the colours left, foul shot, free ball: can I pot the colour on as a plant with the free ball?

    Thx.
    "That pocket moved!"

  • #2
    Yes. In effect the nominated free ball becomes an additional 'ball on'. You can play the free ball onto the actual ball on and pot either one or both of them. If you pot both only one ball is scored and the other is re-spotted.

    Terry
    Terry Davidson
    IBSF Master Coach & Examiner

    Comment


    • #3
      Thanks Terry
      "That pocket moved!"

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by Terry Davidson View Post
        Yes. In effect the nominated free ball becomes an additional 'ball on'. You can play the free ball onto the actual ball on and pot either one or both of them. If you pot both only one ball is scored and the other is re-spotted.

        Terry
        What a good question , and answer, I didn't know that thanks Terry.
        This is how you play darts ,MVG two nines in the same match!
        https://youtu.be/yqTGtwOpHu8

        Comment


        • #5
          The important thing is you have to hit the nominated ball first before going on to pot the actual ball on. For example, brown is in the jaws of a pocket with blue in front and causing the snooker. If blue is nominated then it is a legal shot to first strike the blue (as the nominated ball) and then pot either or both the brown and blue.

          What you cannot do, however, is the reverse. If the blue is in the jaws and the brown in front of it (and partially obscured say by pink, thus a free ball), then you cannot nominate blue, but first hit the brown to play the plant onto the blue.

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by SnkrRef View Post
            The important thing is you have to hit the nominated ball first before going on to pot the actual ball on. For example, brown is in the jaws of a pocket with blue in front and causing the snooker. If blue is nominated then it is a legal shot to first strike the blue (as the nominated ball) and then pot either or both the brown and blue.

            What you cannot do, however, is the reverse. If the blue is in the jaws and the brown in front of it (and partially obscured say by pink, thus a free ball), then you cannot nominate blue, but first hit the brown to play the plant onto the blue.
            just so we're clear on this, is it ok to simultaneously hit the nominated free ball and a ball on?

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by DandyA View Post
              just so we're clear on this, is it ok to simultaneously hit the nominated free ball and a ball on?
              This is specifically allowed in S3.6

              6. Hitting Two Balls Simultaneously
              Two balls, other than two Reds or a free ball and a ball on, must not be struck simultaneously by the first impact of the cue-ball.

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by SnkrRef View Post
                The important thing is you have to hit the nominated ball first before going on to pot the actual ball on. For example, brown is in the jaws of a pocket with blue in front and causing the snooker. If blue is nominated then it is a legal shot to first strike the blue (as the nominated ball) and then pot either or both the brown and blue.

                What you cannot do, however, is the reverse. If the blue is in the jaws and the brown in front of it (and partially obscured say by pink, thus a free ball), then you cannot nominate blue, but first hit the brown to play the plant onto the blue.
                so you are snookered on the reds from a foul take the green say as a free ball thin cut,miss it but cannon into the reds and fluke one,foul or no foul?

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by golferson123 View Post
                  so you are snookered on the reds from a foul take the green say as a free ball thin cut,miss it but cannon into the reds and fluke one,foul or no foul?
                  I would say foul because you have to hit the nominated ball

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    1point as the green was your free ball (RED) so altho you missed the pot on the free ball green you still potted a red.
                    Not played for 3 years and itching for a game....11-3-2017.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by warren132 View Post
                      1point as the green was your free ball (RED) so altho you missed the pot on the free ball green you still potted a red.
                      Ahh did he mean miss the green pot, OR miss the green altogether ???????????????????

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by warren132 View Post
                        1point as the green was your free ball (RED) so altho you missed the pot on the free ball green you still potted a red.
                        you missed the green completely

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Originally posted by golferson123 View Post
                          you missed the green completely
                          then it's a foul

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Yes it would be a foul..
                            Not played for 3 years and itching for a game....11-3-2017.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Originally posted by jrc750 View Post
                              I would say foul because you have to hit the nominated ball
                              This actually happened a few weeks back with my m8's and it turns out you MUST hit the nominated ball. Found it in the rules somewhere.
                              Mayur Jobanputra, Snooker Coach and Snooker Enthusiast
                              My Snooker Blog: www.snookerdelight.com

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X