Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Snooker Rule Question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Snooker Rule Question

    Player 'A' plays a red and it finishes just short of the green pocket.

    Player 'B' pots a different red but the white travels round the table and toward the red over the green pocket. It's just about to hit that red over the pocket when it falls in of it's own accord so the white goes in off.

    If the red had remained in place it may have hit it quarter ball and not gone in off.

    I say the foul remains but I am interested in what you guys think!
    Snooker Crazy - Cues and Equipment Sales Website
    Snooker Crazy - Facebook Page
    Snooker Crazy - You Tube Channel

  • #2
    Hmm pretty sure the red has to come back onto the table over the pocket again and shot to be replayed ?

    Comment


    • #3
      It's covered by s3.9(b)(i):

      9. Ball on Edge of Pocket
      When a ball falls into a pocket without being hit by another ball, and:
      (a) Being no part of any stroke in progress, it shall be replaced and any points previously scored shall count.
      (b) If it would have been hit by any ball involved in a stroke:
      (i) with no infringement of these Rules (including cases where an infringement would have occurred but for the ball falling into a pocket), all balls will be replaced and the same stroke played again, or a different stroke may be played at his discretion, by the same striker;
      (ii) if a foul is committed, the striker incurs the penalty prescribed in Section 3 Rule 10, all balls will be replaced and the next player has the usual options after a foul.
      (c) If a ball balances momentarily on the edge of a pocket and then falls in; it shall count as in the pocket and not be replaced.


      The balls are all replaced and the striker plays again. No foul, no penalty.
      Duplicate of banned account deleted

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by Londonlad147 View Post
        It's covered by s3.9(b)(i):

        9. Ball on Edge of Pocket
        When a ball falls into a pocket without being hit by another ball, and:
        (a) Being no part of any stroke in progress, it shall be replaced and any points previously scored shall count.
        (b) If it would have been hit by any ball involved in a stroke:
        (i) with no infringement of these Rules (including cases where an infringement would have occurred but for the ball falling into a pocket), all balls will be replaced and the same stroke played again, or a different stroke may be played at his discretion, by the same striker;
        (ii) if a foul is committed, the striker incurs the penalty prescribed in Section 3 Rule 10, all balls will be replaced and the next player has the usual options after a foul.
        (c) If a ball balances momentarily on the edge of a pocket and then falls in; it shall count as in the pocket and not be replaced.


        The balls are all replaced and the striker plays again. No foul, no penalty.
        Just about got my head around that.....not exactly plain English but at least a clue there!
        Snooker Crazy - Cues and Equipment Sales Website
        Snooker Crazy - Facebook Page
        Snooker Crazy - You Tube Channel

        Comment

        Working...
        X