Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ruling on a cue alteration

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Ruling on a cue alteration

    I've been looking through the rule book and I can't find a rule that says I can't do this but I thought I'd throw the question out there before I play my next league match and someone calls me on it!
    To assist with my cuing (I have a habit of slightly twisting the cue as i take it back and through) I've stuck a very thin line of black electrical tape along the top of my cue! It's about 6 inch long running back from just below the ferrule! It's made a huge difference as I can now see instantly if I twist the cue even fractionally when feathering before the shot as the line moves to the side. I don't use it for lining up purposes even though it really does make it a lot easier to see a perfect, black, straight line running down the cue. If someone can tell me definitivly if this is allowed or not that would be great. If it's not I can just keep using it on the practice table until I get out of this twisting habit. Cheers!

  • #2
    To me this would be ok as you have not changed the cue from the traditional and accepted form. I see this as no different from the SightRight hole and line, or having tape on the butt to assist with hand placement.
    Interested in anyone else's view

    Sec 1.3 The Cue - A cue shall be not less than 3ft (914mm) in length and shall show no substantial departure from the traditional and generally accepted shape and form.
    Up the TSF!

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by DeanH View Post
      To me this would be ok as you have not changed the cue from the traditional and accepted form. I see this as no different from the SightRight hole and line, or having tape on the butt to assist with hand placement.
      Interested in anyone else's view

      Sec 1.3 The Cue - A cue shall be not less than 3ft (914mm) in length and shall show no substantial departure from the traditional and generally accepted shape and form.
      Agreed. I have seen the SightRight as well and this description is a similar situation. No altercation of the Rules.

      Comment


      • #4
        Agree. Nothing wrong with this. You could just easily use the natural grain on the cue as a guide.

        Didn't Alan McManus used to have tape on his cue that he could feel with his chin to help him with a consistent backswing?
        Richie

        Class 3 referee, very average player

        Comment


        • #5
          As Dean has said, the addition of tape wouldn't be a departure from "the traditional and generally accepted shape and form".
          Duplicate of banned account deleted

          Comment


          • #6
            I used to twist the cue myself but i just use the grain in the ash to stop doing it now
            It's hard to pot balls with a Chimpanzee tea party going on in your head

            Wibble

            Comment


            • #7
              Is it illegal to use a pool cue then?

              Comment


              • #8
                Ruling on a cue alteration

                as long as it at least 36in long it is fine
                pool cues conform to the general form of a cue.
                Up the TSF!

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by DeanH View Post
                  as long as it at least 36in long it is fine
                  pool cues conform to the general form of a cue.
                  I see! How about using a glove on the bridge hand?

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Ruling on a cue alteration

                    no problem
                    Young pro Muir plays with one.
                    Up the TSF!

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by burgerunderwear View Post
                      Is it illegal to use a pool cue then?
                      Would you really want to ??

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by DeanH View Post
                        no problem
                        Young pro Muir plays with one.
                        How about using powder instead?

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Originally posted by jrc750 View Post
                          Would you really want to ??
                          I was just curious

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Originally posted by burgerunderwear View Post
                            How about using powder instead?
                            Get that on the table and you would (should) be thrown out !!

                            Comment

                            Working...
                            X