Where exactly do I place the reds and colors, total noob question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where exactly do I place the reds and colors, total noob question

I have a 3.5' x 7' pool table. I bought some snooker balls and pocket reducers so I could play some snooker at my house, I wanted to mark the correct positions for the colors and reds, as I have just been estimating. I tried to find a thread regarding marking such a small table but didn't see anything, and my math is well not that great to try and covert the markings down from the 6'12' table.

I live in the US, and don't know to much about snooker, sorry I was unable to find the info myself, I think I have the right idea on where, but don't want to mess up and thought I would ask the community here.

here are the spots by ratio of the table dimensions:
    http://www.snookerbilliardspool.co.uk/tablemarking.asp

what size balls did you get?
    Up the TSF! :snooker:

Comment

Thank you so very much Dean!!

I went with 2-1/8" as I thought they would rebound a little better off the pool rails than the 2-1/16" size.

Pool balls are 2-1/4" but snooker balls that were 2-1/4" were really expensive compared to the 2-1/8"

I really have no idea why we use the standard system of weight and measurements over here and not the metric system.

Only three countries this backwards, Burma, Liberia, and the US. :biggrin-new: ig:

Would your rack 15 reds or 10 reds on such a small table?

Comment

I have heard people doing only 10 due to lack of space, also (not sure) but 2 1/8" could be too big for your table.
        I did see somewhere a scale of size of balls best for size of table...

Comment

Originally Posted by Snooker Theory View Post
          Thank you so very much Dean!!

I went with 2-1/8" as I thought they would rebound a little better off the pool rails than the 2-1/16" size.

Pool balls are 2-1/4" but snooker balls that were 2-1/4" were really expensive compared to the 2-1/8"