Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Angling a player

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • DeanH
    replied
    Originally posted by mcsilks View Post
    Have I opened up a can of worms here ?


    by the way you can download a copy of the rules from the following link, for some easy late night reading
    https://www.wpbsa.com/governance/rules-of-snooker/

    Leave a comment:


  • mcsilks
    replied
    Have I opened up a can of worms here ?

    Leave a comment:


  • DeanH
    replied
    Originally posted by blahblah01 View Post


    Foul shot on the Black ends the Frame is quite sufficient?

    Anyhow, not arguing about agreeing

    not sufficient - it is correct but only 1/3 of the End of frame scenarios (in normal snooker play), because a scoring pot on the black when only black is on the table also ends the frame; and (the OP scenario) the difference in scores

    Leave a comment:


  • blahblah01
    replied


    Foul shot on the Black ends the Frame is quite sufficient?

    Anyhow, not arguing about agreeing

    Leave a comment:


  • DeanH
    replied
    Originally posted by blahblah01 View Post
    Lots of words for if a player is 8 points up with just the black they win, as it is impossible to get a foul and pot the Black ie more than 7 points as the first event ends the Frame?
    hm, you used 41 words, the specific clause is 36 words

    it is difficult to write rules to make them clear and unambiguous; I believe the Rules Committee recently took time out to look at the rules to see if anything can be tweaked for simplicity, plain English, clarity, etc. I have not seen anything yet from this exercise

    Leave a comment:


  • mcsilks
    replied
    I appreciate the replies. Thanks for answering my question.

    Leave a comment:


  • blahblah01
    replied
    Lots of words for if a player is 8 points up with just the black they win, as it is impossible to get a foul and pot the Black ie more than 7 points as the first event ends the Frame?

    Leave a comment:


  • DeanH
    replied
    JRC and Blah are correct in part

    JRC is correct and alluding to the rule:
    "2.1 … until the frame is completed by:
    (b) claim by the striker when; Black is the only object ball remaining on the table, aggregate points are not relevant, and there is a difference of more than seven points between the scores in his favour;"

    Blah is alluding to the rule:
    "3.4(a) When Black is the only object ball remaining on the table, the first score or foul ends the frame excepting …"
    but this rule does not apply to the scenario in the OP, 2.1(b) above does


    mcsilks - in normal play you can use the jaw of the pocket to affect a indirect shot to your opponent and therefore possibly get a foul and penalty points, but as you can see from above it wont happen in your scenario as the frame is already won by the player 8 points ahead.
    hope this helps

    Leave a comment:


  • blahblah01
    replied
    Or more simply a foul on the Black ends the match....

    Leave a comment:


  • jrc750
    replied
    No you can't the game is over once more than 7 points difference otherwise the game would never end !

    Leave a comment:


  • mcsilks
    started a topic Angling a player

    Angling a player

    You are losing by 8 points with only the black remaining.

    Do the rules allow you to play on in the (extremely remote) chance that you might be able to angle your opponent and force a foul?

    Has this ever happened?
Working...
X