Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is this a free ball?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Is this a free ball?

    https://imgur.com/05u1Jlu

  • #2
    No..............,

    Comment


    • #3
      No, from the photo it appears that the cue ball has clear path to both extreme edges of the ball on - assuming red.

      i.e. the cue ball will not contact the pink before or at the same time as the red.

      If the cue ball would contact the pink before or at the same time as the red, it would be a snooker and if after a foul then a free ball option would be awarded.
      Up the TSF!

      Comment


      • #4
        It looks as though the other side can cut (red next to pink) but itís blocked.. but also thereís a pack of reds all covering each other so canít see edges of the reds but theyíre there.. hope that makes sense.. is it still a free ball?

        Comment


        • #5
          "extreme edges" does NOT mean the points 180deg across the ball's diameter but the points the ball tangent-cut - so as the distance between the balss reduces the extreme edges come closer across the faces of the ball that the ball came physically touch.

          In your photo the other reds are not involved, as each red is considered individually as if the other reds are not there; from your photo it appears that all the other reds could be hit by the cue ball on both extreme edges.

          so the cue ball can contact the extreme edge on the red to its right (as seen from the photo).

          If you say the pink will be contacted before the red or at the same time, so the cue ball can not contact BOTH extreme edges, then a snooker exists.
          If this situation occurs after a Foul shot, then a free ball option will be offered.
          (you don't get a free ball if no foul occurred previous shot)

          Difficult to tell from the photo.
          to me, the photo shows the pink is not in the way for the cue ball to contact the low edge of the red, so no snooker.

          please see the following post and the images attached to it which covers this very scenario as well as others
          http://www.thesnookerforum.co.uk/boa...ad.php?t=15560
          you will see the illustration of "extreme edges" not being the diameter of a ball as the contact points.
          Last edited by DeanH; 27th June 2018, 03:50 PM.
          Up the TSF!

          Comment


          • #6
            Ok cool thanks!

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally Posted by Multicrazy View Post
              It looks as though the other side can cut (red next to pink) but itís blocked.. but also thereís a pack of reds all covering each other so canít see edges of the reds but theyíre there.. hope that makes sense.. is it still a free ball?
              In simple language a red can not snooker a red. In your photo it looks like you can clearly hit, say the top red, on the extreme edges if the intervening Reds were removed. Hope that's not too confusing.

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally Posted by Bigmeek View Post
                In simple language a red can not snooker a red. In your photo it looks like you can clearly hit, say the top red, on the extreme edges if the intervening Reds were removed. Hope that's not too confusing.
                And the lips of pockets do not count as a "snooker" it's just tough.....

                Comment


                • #9
                  Bigmeek has it, forget about the red closest to the cueball, remove that red and each of the other reds can be hit on their extreme sides. as the rule says a red cannot be snookered by another red

                  Comment

                  Working...
                  X