Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Another 'Free ball' question

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • DeanH
    replied
    I see where you are coming from, noted

    Leave a comment:


  • Londonlad147
    replied
    Originally posted by DeanH View Post
    Where you say "ok to strike brown and black simultaneously when black is nominated ball and the brown wasn’t" is not correct - the brown being ball on is automatically "nominated".
    That's not strictly correct: the brown ball is not nominated in the free ball scenario. If a free ball is *nominated* (ie indicated the satisfaction of the referee that it is the first ball he will strike), then the brown is not nominated, but does remain a ball on... just one which cannot be struck first (unless simultaneously with the nominated free ball).

    Leave a comment:


  • DeanH
    replied
    Another 'Free ball' question

    the brown is the ball on
    the black is the nominated FREE ball

    "...the nominated FREE ball must be hit first..."

    Leave a comment:


  • black21920
    replied
    Yes it’s a confusing one, like you say brown is the ball on and is automatically nominated which is why I didn’t think it would be a foul hitting the brown as the cue ball essentially has hit a nominated ball first even though you have declared your intention to hit the black

    Leave a comment:


  • DeanH
    replied
    Another 'Free ball' question

    the rules state
    1. nominated free ball must be hit first

    and elsewhere
    2. simultaneously hitting two balls is a foul; except two reds, or a ball on and a nominated free ball.


    In snooker the free ball must be hit first, in UK pool this is not the case

    Where you say "ok to strike brown and black simultaneously when black is nominated ball and the brown wasn’t" is not correct - the brown being ball on is automatically "nominated". So for that strike you in essence have two browns on the table and like multiple reds you can hit two of the same colour simultaneously this stroke only.
    Last edited by DeanH; 15 December 2018, 06:06 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • black21920
    replied
    Well there appears no logic to say that it is ok to strike brown and black simultaneously when black is nominated ball and the brown wasn’t, striking another ball simultaneously would normally result in a foul, you haven’t hit the nominated ball first on this occasion hence my reasoning to suggest that hitting the brown after nominating the black would also be ok??

    Leave a comment:


  • jrc750
    replied
    Originally posted by black21920 View Post
    Simultaneously hitting a ball with another ball of the same value is not a foul which is why I was thinking hitting the brown after nominating black in a free ball situation wouldn’t result in a foul as it has the same point value?? I’m definitely no expert on this matter but try to apply a bit of logic where the rules are concerned.
    You have strange logic then
    How can you name a ball then miss it and expect that to be ok lol

    Leave a comment:


  • black21920
    replied
    Simultaneously hitting a ball with another ball of the same value is not a foul which is why I was thinking hitting the brown after nominating black in a free ball situation wouldn’t result in a foul as it has the same point value?? I’m definitely no expert on this matter but try to apply a bit of logic where the rules are concerned.

    Leave a comment:


  • DeanH
    replied
    Another 'Free ball' question

    no, the nominated free ball must be hit by the cue ball first. Not contacting the nominated free ball first is a foul.
    As londonlad said, you can simultaneously hit the ball on and nominated free ball.
    Last edited by DeanH; 15 December 2018, 05:24 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • black21920
    replied
    What if you nominate the black as free ball and miss it and hit the brown, presumably that’s ok???

    Leave a comment:


  • Londonlad147
    replied
    What Dean said... but you can simultaneously hit the nominated free ball and ball on.

    Leave a comment:


  • bluenose1940
    replied
    Thank you DeanH, much appreciated.

    Leave a comment:


  • DeanH
    replied
    1. Ok to nominate the Black as Free Ball to pot the Brown. Brown is ball on and is not spotted. Essentially the Black is a brown for the shot. So long as the nominated ball is contacted by the cue ball first; if not Foul.
    2. Score 4.
    3. Blue now ball on.


    4. If both Brown and Black are potted, Brown not spotted, Black is spotted. Score 4 (not 8 )
    Last edited by DeanH; 31 October 2018, 06:14 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • bluenose1940
    started a topic Another 'Free ball' question

    Another 'Free ball' question

    Brown to Black left on the table and a 'Free ball' has been called. The Brown is in direct line with a pocket and the Black is touching the Brown and is forming a 100% pottable plant. Can you nominate the Black as the Free Ball and thus pot the Brown in the same move or would this be a foul as the Black is the nominated ball and you have potted something else. If it is allowed, does the Brown stay down or is it re-spotted?
Working...
X