Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Free ball question

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • DeanH
    replied
    Originally posted by Railfan87 View Post
    That's a great post! Thanks for sharing it with us, Dean!
    It is a great post, I refer back to it often
    Don't forget to use the link at the beginning of the first post to go back to the previous thread about "see if you have a free ball in the first place"


    found the link:
    http://www.thesnookerforum.co.uk/boa...f-you-have-one

    Leave a comment:


  • Railfan87
    replied
    Originally posted by DeanH View Post
    see the following great post concerning this scenario (and others):
    http://www.thesnookerforum.co.uk/boa...-t)-do-with-it
    That's a great post! Thanks for sharing it with us, Dean!

    Leave a comment:


  • DeanH
    replied
    The ball closest to the cue ball that is affecting a snooker is the effective snookering ball, all other balls are not considered.

    From the description, where you say "because the brown ball was the first ball to partly obstruct the red"; it reads that the Brown came to rest nearest to the cue ball and was the effective snookering ball; FOUL as the Brown was a free ball and can not be a snookering ball when it comes to rest - whether by accident or not.
    You disregard the Pink and all other balls.

    If the Pink was nearest the cue ball and the effective snookering ball, in your scenario - no foul.
    The Brown, even though may still in line with the ball on, is not the snookering ball so not considered.

    Only when more than one ball is exactly the same distance from the cue ball is there more than one effective snookering ball.

    see the following great post concerning this scenario (and others):
    http://www.thesnookerforum.co.uk/boa...-t)-do-with-it
    Last edited by DeanH; 16th March 2019, 02:17 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • jrc750
    replied
    Originally posted by Railfan87 View Post
    From your description, the brown is closer to the cue ball, so it is the snookering ball. S.2, R.17(b)(i). If that's the case, you have committed a foul under S.3, R12(b)(ii) , penalty four points.
    Hmm i'm confused now, need to see a pic to be sure

    Leave a comment:


  • Railfan87
    replied
    From your description, the brown is closer to the cue ball, so it is the snookering ball. S.2, R.17(b)(i). If that's the case, you have committed a foul under S.3, R12(b)(ii) , penalty four points.

    Leave a comment:


  • Nifty50
    replied
    Yeah a picture would help. The rules say that the snookering ball is the ball which is closest to the cue ball in a direct line between the cue ball and the object ball. Don't think it matters if the ball is partial or full it just needs to be the one closest to the cue ball. Someone else I'm sure will explain this better lol.

    Leave a comment:


  • jrc750
    replied
    I'm 99% certain you are ok, the pink is the snookering ball so surely the fact that the brown went in front of the red is irrelevant ?

    EDIT: need to see a pic, i thought you meant pink was closest to the cue ball, if it's the brown then you committed a foul
    Last edited by jrc750; 16th March 2019, 01:23 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Bazbazbaz
    started a topic Free ball question

    Free ball question

    First message so please forgive me if this is an obvious question...

    Playing this evening, my opponent made a foul and left me a free ball as I was snookered from the last red on the table. I played the brown, trying to pot it in the middle pocket but missed. I’d deliberately held the white where it was so that if I missed, my opponent would be snookered behind the pink ball. The brown ball that I played bounced off the jaw and came to rest slightly obscuring the path to the red ball however the pink ball was the one causing the full snooker. (If the brown ball was not there. The pink would have fully snookered my opponent. If the pink wasn’t there, my opponent would of been able to hit 75% of the red ball.

    But, my opponent called it as a foul because the brown ball was the first ball to partly obstruct the red. I disagreed.

    Anyone know the rule in this case?

    I have a picture but can’t seem to post it on here.
Working...
X