Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Foul Shot Query

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • MrRottweiler
    replied
    An old practice partner used to catch me out with that rule as I would forget I can't snooker behind the nominated free ball but he would never say anything and let me do it. We were playing for money so can't really blame him and I soon started to remember.

    Leave a comment:


  • DeanH
    replied
    Originally Posted by Renoir View Post
    Change of scenario I know but just thought I would throw this one in
    I was playing in a league match some years ago & was stretching down table to reach cue ball slightly short of blue line & playing a red into black end corner pocket but not comfortable decided to use rest
    After cueing the shot with the rest a few times still did not feel great & put rest to one side of cue ball to examine other options?
    spotted an alternative pottable red & decided to play that one? Got down (leaving the rest on table) played & potted the red to be greeted by a chorus of "foul" from the opposing team members? They reckoned I had committed a foul by leaving aid equipment on the playing surface of the table?
    Not the case ofcourse? So long as no balls touched the rest it has therefore had any affect of the outcome of anything? So is irrelevant as to wether or not it is on the playing surface or in the rest holders?
    You are correct, leaving any equipment on the bed of the table is NOT a foul in itself.
    It is a Foul if the equipment contacts any ball; the penalty is 4 or the highest value of any ball concerned (ball on or ball hit).

    Leave a comment:


  • Renoir
    replied
    Change of scenario I know but just thought I would throw this one in
    I was playing in a league match some years ago & was stretching down table to reach cue ball slightly short of blue line & playing a red into black end corner pocket but not comfortable decided to use rest
    After cueing the shot with the rest a few times still did not feel great & put rest to one side of cue ball to examine other options?
    spotted an alternative pottable red & decided to play that one? Got down (leaving the rest on table) played & potted the red to be greeted by a chorus of "foul" from the opposing team members? They reckoned I had committed a foul by leaving aid equipment on the playing surface of the table?
    Not the case ofcourse? So long as no balls touched the rest it has therefore had any affect of the outcome of anything? So is irrelevant as to wether or not it is on the playing surface or in the rest holders?

    Leave a comment:


  • Hussar
    replied
    Many thanks for the responses.

    Leave a comment:


  • DeanH
    replied
    as Mikee says, the closest ball to the cue ball is the "snookering ball" so if that is the Black, then it is a foul (unless only Pink and Black on the table )
    If the second ball is exactly the same distance from the cue ball as the Black it is still considered a Foul as BOTH balls are then considered as "snookering ball".

    Leave a comment:


  • mikee
    replied
    Yes if the first ball the white is behind is the nominated free ball

    Leave a comment:


  • Hussar
    started a topic Foul Shot Query

    Foul Shot Query


    If I am awarded a free ball and I choose black, for instance. I play the black and inadvertently snooker my oponent with the black AND another colour, is this a foul?
Working...
X