No announcement yet.

Reanne Evans heads to Fareham

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Reanne Evans heads to Fareham

    FAREHAM Snooker Club plays host to the world’s best women players on Saturday.

    Six-time world champion Reanne Evans heads to the south coast bidding to extend her record-breaking 80-match unbeaten run in the Connie Gough National Championship.

    Aiming to stop the queen of the green baize in the fifth leg of the World Ladies Billiards & Snooker Association tour will be Cosham’s Emma Bonney, 34, the world number three.

    Also in a high-quality line-up are world number two Maria Catalano, Ronnie O’Sullivan’s 29-year-old cousin, and, making her first appearance of the season, Kent’s Katie Henrick, 30, who is ranked fourth.

    The last time 25-year-old mother-of-one Evans, from Dudley, West Midlands, was beaten on the WLBSA tour was on March 1, 2008. And she has won the last 18 tournaments that she has entered.

    Favourite for the junior title is 14-year-old Derby schoolgirl Hannah Jones, the world number seven. She will be up against 16-year-old Naomi Clare (Ripley, Derbys) and 11-year-old Jasmine Bolsover (Woking).

    The draw takes place at 9.45am and the action starts at 10am. Colin Selby is the tournament director.

    The format is a best-of-five knockout. A junior championship and a Plate competition, for players not reaching the quarter-finals, will also be played. If time allows, a seniors event will be run.

    The WLBSA is hosting six ranking events this season culminating in the World Championships in Bury St Edmunds in April.

    WLBSA president Agnes Davies, the 1949 women’s world champion, died last month, aged 90.

    Chairman Mandy Fisher said: “Agnes was a wonderful lady who I had the great pleasure of knowing and playing snooker with over the years.”

    Connie Gough National Championship
    Saturday, March 12, 2011
    Fareham Snooker Club
    PO16 8ST
    Tel: 01329 221759


    Reanne Evans (Dudley, West Mids)
    Maria Catalano (Dudley, West Mids)
    Emma Bonney (Portsmouth)
    Katie Henrick (Bickley, Kent)
    Eva Palmius (Isleham, Cambs)
    Jenny Poulter (Maidstone)
    Hannah Jones (Derby)
    Marianne Williams (Smallfield, Surrey)
    Martina Lumsden (Eastbourne)
    Gaye Jones (Melksham, Wilts)
    Vicky Carter (Hemel Hempstead)
    Tina Owen-Sevilton (Taunton)
    Natascha Niermann (Cambridge)
    Naomi Clare (Ripley, Derbys)
    Jasmine Bolsover (Woking)
    Victoria Gibbs (Trowbridge)

    Tim Dunkley (WLBSA press officer)