World Billiards Championship 2008

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• World Billiards Championship 2008

With the event only a week from today, I thought it'd be a good time to start a thread :snooker: with this news link:

http://www.thetelegraphandargus.co.u...orld_conquest/

And another piece from a few weeks ago:

http://www.thepress.co.uk/news/23564..._lift_for_gary
    "And I'd give him my right arm to have his cue action - poetry in motion."

Ronnie O'Sullivan on Steve Davis

I'm really looking forward to the event ... as every year since I started playing billiards.
    Not too many players and fans here in this forum, as it seems

Comment

I like a game of billiards!
      Might of even gone if it was near me.
      Do they film it?

Comment

There has been some discussion about it being filmed privately here:
        http://www.billiard-junkies.co.uk/vi...c=384&forum=14

There has been a strong discussion about it being officially sancitioned / legal ...

Comment

I wish Billiards would be a more popular sport. People just don't want to play it, and most people do not understand it. In my opinion, if there was to be enough Billiards on the television, it would be more popular. Of course that is the same for all things as some would argue, but for Billiards it would really help. There are very few people who understand the rules, understand the game itself and are actually good at it to get some prize money. It would be good if the W.P.B.S.A could be bothered with any attempts to make it popular. It is an art, but there are not many people to teach it if you compare it to Snooker and alongside that, not a lot of professional tournaments. I guess if people don't want to play it then they don't want to play it.

Anyway, good news about the tournament, I hope there is some coverage on TV or the internet.

Comment

"not a lot of professional tournaments" ... good one. the World Championships are the only Pro tournament.