struggling with a kamui medium tip

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• struggling with a kamui medium tip

i have been using this tip for a few months now and am struggling with the feel of it, but the main problem is that i am really struggling with screw back shots, for example if im straight on the black i can screw back to about the cushion when im trying to screw a fair bit more than this, should i change to a softer tip, and can anyone recommend a good make

thanks

Do you normally have difficulty with this shot . I,ve used this tip and find it responsive so i dont think the tip is the problem , it may be more to do with you,re technique . I,ve tried most tips on the market and whichever you use , if you hit the ball correct then you will get the desired backspin on the white .

Comment

Hi phidavi7... it does sound like a technique issue if you are having trouble screwing back to the cushion from a straight black, i.e. assuming the cue ball is away from the cushion... I struggle to bring the cue ball back when bridging over the rail.

Likewise, I struggle with Kamui tips (black or tan)... especially can't get used to that bouncy effect off the black tips... I like the tan ones better but still.

If you prefer softer tips, I find that the Baron tips I got from ADR147 are quite responsive, although they tend to lose shape especially after playing a few power shots in succession... probably have to tap it down more to make it compact. Mike's Supertips are quite good after I file and tap them down to almost half their original thickness.

General idea is to play around with different tips, I'm sure you'll find one to your liking...
      When life gives you lemons, don't make lemonade. Make life take the lemons back. GET MAD!!

Comment

Did you just switch to laminated tip? They do take time to get used to. However, I agree with hotpot. It seems like it is because of your cue action.

For recommendation,