Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about Aramith Tournament Champion Balls

Hi all.

I've been playing almost every day now for the past three months and working hard to improve my game.

Recently decided to start proper practice before my first league game in September. The table I play on will be my match table but it doesn't have a good set of balls, just the old club ones. The white is too small and light and there's little chips and marks on a few of the balls. The table itself is nice, with fairly new cloth and is looked after.

Because of the hours I'm putting in, and it is a non-profit club (£2 lets you play all night ), I've been thinking of donating a set of "Aramith Tournament Champion balls".

Two questions basically:
    1) Is this a good move (should it improve my game and make the table generally nicer to play/practice on)
    2) How hard wearing are the TC balls - Should I only put them out when I want to play? Or can I leave them on all the time. I'd like to give something back to the club but if they're likely to damage easily after lots of use it'd be a shame.

Cheers guys, sorry for the long post. I'm loving the game thus far!
    - The Mad Technician.

Cue: Master Cue Pro-Butt 4 - 18oz, 9.5mm
    Current Highest Break: 52 (working on it )

Question about Aramith Tournament Champion Balls

If that were me personally I'd buy a set of tournament champion but only take them in when you practice, its too risky to let other people play with them as they could be using iffy ferrules that may damage the balls, the type where they have filed the tip too much so the edge of the ferrule is showing. You also get some members whacking the balls too hard so they end up flying off the table and possibly damaging them, then you get the masse shot brigade that have seen it on tv so they try it themselves lol
    sigpic

Comment

+ you'll use only white as a cue ball (not pink, yellow, etc.)