Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What to buy for/How to care for a new cue

Hi,

I am new to snooker and have played only a few times (Approx 4). I am pretty terrible but importantly I'm having a great time and hence I do not really mind! In time I'm sure I'll improve! (I play some okay shots but not consistently enough).

I have purchased a cue off of eBay from a seller selling the "Silent Knight" cues (Including case, mini butt and extension)...

I was just wondering if anybody could suggest what other items are "essential" to buy? As above, I'll have (Once it is delivered) a cue, case, mini butt, extension... Of course I don't want to get anything silly for the sake of it (My own set of balls or rest, etc) however what else should I definitely get (Either because I should certainly get one or because it will protect the cue?)... A towel for the cue? Any certain chalk? Any wax and/or oil for the cue? A tip sharpner (What exactly does this do)?

I have seen many bits and bobs but concerned what is essential and what isn't. Considering the amount I have spent £70 for the cue package I want to ensure I treat it well. I have noticed some sets in Argos containing a few items... As well as noticing some wax/towel/cloth packs on eBay.

Noticed I've rambled enough, but I'm finding it hard to express myself.

In short: What should I buy that is (a) pretty essential or (b) necessary to protect the cue?

Cheers!

A cue towel.
    Green Triangle Chalk.
    Good quality tips (Blue Diamond, Elk master, Talisman etc).
    Tipping equipment= glue, craft knife, file, various grades of sandpaper.

Comment

I was considering this item here:

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Produc...7C12108344.htm

Seem sound enough?

Would you suggest any treatments for the cue at all? Wax/oil/etc?

Cheers.

Comment

Originally Posted by LavaChild View Post

Seem sound enough?

Cheers.
        that sets alright however you could buy much better for the same price!!