Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on choosing a non-standard snooker cue

Hey guys,
    I've been playing snooker for a couple of years now but till recently I did not play regularly. Although I've always wanted to buy a cue - just recently I felt like I needed it. I'm still a novice - my largest break is 22 with 6 balls - but the game is really starting to take a permanent place in my mind

I've already read a couple of threads and articles about choosing a cue but I still need some help. My first problem is that I'm tall (196 cm) and I have longer hands than average people. I've read that the cue should be at most 5-6 inches under your shoulder and roughly measured my shoulder is about 65 inches above the ground. So I need a cue about 60 inches long and I can say from my experience that I really need a significantly longer one than those in the clubs. I've also noticed that I like playing with a heavier cue. The problem is that I have no idea what "a heavier one" exactly means. I've read that a standard cue is 17 ounces so would you suggest looking for a 18 or 19 one? The problem is that every article says "go in your local shop and try different weights and lengths and choose what fits you best" - but I have no local shop ... I'm in Bulgaria and though the sport here is gaining popularity fast - there is still no shop with wide range of cues on stock and a professional to help making the decision.

So I'll be really thankful for any suggestions - brands, actual cues, links for actual cues in actual online shops and so on my budget is around 100 GBP but I can give some more (maybe up to 150) if you persuade me that it's worth