• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• chin on cue

hi...
    this is my first time posting in this section

i have a question that bother me for quite a long time,
    i know that we should put the cue under our chin,...but what bother me is, do we need to put any pressure from chin to cue?

can anyone explain to me why should we need to put the chin on cue, so that i know the purpose of doing it instead of blindly follow what other people do ?

thank you very much.....
    and I'm sorry for my poor English....

have a nice day

No real pressure on chin to cue required. With chin on cue your line of sight along the cue shaft, and then from cue ball to object ball and onwards to pocket should be spot on. Just to emphasise the difference..... try potting a ball a ball from standing more or less straight up. You can't line up the shot at all. Another example....try shooting a rifle. You need to line up along the barrell following your line of sight.

Comment

thank you very much for your reply
      another question is, is the cue must be stick on the chin until we finish the shoot?
      or when we hit, it will be slightly off the chin?

Comment

Probably the most important thing of all when cueing is to have absolutely NO head or body movement at all. If you START your shot with chin on cue then your chin should STILL be on the cue untill well after your follow through. Watch Steve Davis and you'll see him stay down on the shot till the object ball is in the pocket!!

Comment

Originally Posted by ccfook2123 View Post
          thank you very much for your reply
          another question is, is the cue must be stick on the chin until we finish the shoot?
          or when we hit, it will be slightly off the chin?
          Liang Wenbo, Peter Ebdon, John Higgins, Judd Trump has the cue on the chin until they finnish the shot. I cannot say the same thing about Ronnie OSullivan, Mark Allen, or Ryan Day. I dont think this is something wrong, it is just a preference.