Motivation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Motivation

Lately I am suffering from lack of motivation in the game, be it playing friendly frame with somebody or solo practicing, when I am playing alone it feels so boring to practice or when I am playing someone I hardly care if I win or lose. Straight forward easy shots playing hurriedly without care and when the cue ball is against the cushion flicking hurriedly do not feel like staying down long enough on the shot, other symptoms are cueing across, body movement, stance all over the place, taking one look and letting the cue go, no focus on the object ball, which I never use to do.

I am 35 years old and I have been playing since last ten years. I am married and father of 3 years old son. I must admit that I am on antidepressant. I am suffering from chronic depression since last 5-6 years. I always looked up to Ronnie O’ Sullivan who suffers from depression but has able to achieve a lot in the game. I am not comparing myself with Ronnie here. He is the most naturally gifted player ever. I have won 4-5 local tournament, that’s all. But my friends tell me that I could have achieved a lot more. My highest break is 85.

In the early years of my playing carrier, I was very serious about practicing and lot focused. I have read most of the snooker coaching manuals and seen coaching videos but I always felt that I needed somebody with good understanding of the game to coach me, but unfortunately there are no good coaches in India. I wish I could go to Del Hill or Terry Grifith but I can not afford to go to UK.
    Regards !

Maybe all you need is a short break away from snooker to try and get the enthusiasm back, resist going for a while until your desperate to get back on the table, and then play every shot to the best of your ability. :snooker:

Comment

Originally Posted by shailendra View Post