Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does anyone else play without a pause on the back swing ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does anyone else play without a pause on the back swing ?

I'm just curious really as to how many other people play without a pause on the back swing ? Ive played snooker for quite a few years, i then stopped and had quite a long time away from the game as i got a bit bored with playing.

Ive started playing again recently and ive had a few people comment on my cue action looks too fast as it has no pause on the back swing, i tried to put a pause in but it just wasn't happening, it felt too un-natural and i couldn't pot for toffee when i tried a pause.

I'm not 100% sure if my cueing action was like this before i stopped and had a long break, i don't think it was to be honest as i'm sure it was a lot smoother, its just what ive adopted since i started playing again.

My back swing is also quite long and quick, its not really ideal for touch shots sometimes.

I guess the question i wanted to ask is should you stay with what you have used for years if it feels comfy ?
    Last edited by The Stig; 9 October 2011, 08:43 PM.
    sigpic

I made my first century without having a pause in my cue action - but soon after I had some coaching and introduced the pause. I actually have two pauses.......Firstly at the front where I check for a final time that im hiting the white ball exactly where I want. Secondly, I pause at the pack to ensure a smooth action and to give me time to get my eyes firmly fixed on the object ball.

If I were you I would try and introduce a pause at the back - particuarly if you look at the object ball when you are striking the cue ball.

Comment

Originally Posted by circle View Post