...er...what now?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ...er...what now?

I have seen on video that I have a tendency to push the cue off line and put unwanted left hand side on the cue ball. It's slight but of course it's enough.

My question is what do I do now that I can see the problem? I genuinely don't know what to do. I don't know if the problem is a sighting one, a stance one, a grip one, or a combination of all three.

It seems that a little knowledge is a dangerous thing.

Do I seek coaching, learn to play with what at the moment is a very consistent action, or do I wait until I practise again and try every adjustment under the sun until I am thoroughly confused?!!!!

I am still a beginner really, not yet played a competitive match, I only get to practise 2 times a week, play my Dad once a week, and whilst I am getting better (my highest practise break is 50) it is very frustrating that such a simple desire (to cue in a straight line - how hard can it be?) is making me so utterly confused and if I'm honest is preventing me from wanting to actually play a competitive game.

Any suggestions would be welcome

Originally Posted by sixofclubs View Post
    I have seen on video that I have a tendency to push the cue off line and put unwanted left hand side on the cue ball. It's slight but of course it's enough.

My question is what do I do now that I can see the problem? I genuinely don't know what to do. I don't know if the problem is a sighting one, a stance one, a grip one, or a combination of all three.

It seems that a little knowledge is a dangerous thing.

Do I seek coaching, learn to play with what at the moment is a very consistent action, or do I wait until I practise again and try every adjustment under the sun until I am thoroughly confused?!!!!