Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Problem with keeping right leg straight.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with keeping right leg straight.

I've been playing snooker occasionally for a while now, but now I started to take it more serious and learn the basics all over. I'm pretty good at playing pool, I've been doing that for years. But at snooker I'm really a beginner. My highest break is 38 in a friendly match, and I was very lucky that time.

My biggest problem is my stance. Every time I try to keep my right leg straight, it hurts and I feel uncomfortable. When I bend my leg I feel more comfortable and play better. I have long legs, maybe that is the problem? Or is it because I'm used to the pool stance, with both legs bent?
    When I try playing with a straight back leg, I miss a lot of balls and after a while my leg feels stiff and hurts a bit.

Don't ask me for footage of me playing, I don't have a camera and I'm way too shy.

Anyone have an idea of what I might be doing wrong. Do other people have this problem? I sometimes think I might be standing too close or too far from the table or something...? Should I just play with bent knees?

Any help is much appreciated!
    Box the chimp.

The most important things about your stance is for it to be stable, comfortable, and not limiting your shot selection. If you feel stable, comfortable and able to play all the shots you need to, then I don't change it (IMO). Ricky Walden plays with a bent back leg, so it's certainly not essential that you play with a straight one.

If you feel like you're not progressing with your game and wondering why then perhaps it's time to experiment with your stance, or better see a coach as there may be some other more obvious area(s) for improvement.

But, if you do want to play about with this..

Where is your back foot currently pointing? Is it on the line of the cue, or inside, or outside?