Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Messing with my basics, ruined my game!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Messing with my basics, ruined my game!!

i just started playing the game more seriously after a couple years of pretty much knocking balls around my technique was pretty fast in terms of shot selection and cueing with reasonably good potting but with sometimes unpredictable positional results so i decided to slow down take on a more solid stance and slower cue action and mess on with my basics, it has totally ruined my game and i dont remember what i played like before i started messing on, now when ever i go down on a shot all i am thinking is where my feet are placed am i on line, how i am gripping the cue where my chin and chest are am i following through properly a million thoughts on technique and not one on concentrating on potting the ball, i dont know how to get rid of these thoughts so that my game may start improving again as i want to try anything to prevent giving up on the game, as i love playing it, anyone else had this problem?
    IF YOU HAVE A SHOT ON TAKE IT, NEVER MESS WITH CHANCE AND BE TOO SAFE CAUSE ONE DAY IT WILL BITE YOU IN THE ASS

yes i too have been there before i made the conscious decision to play and learn the game properly, just like having to do when learning anything else. try making a cue with the same attitude, just doing what comes naturally, yes its thicker at the one end, with a tipped brass ferrule and it should be smooth, but will the first batch of cues play well? unlikely. would it be a good few years of understanding the materials, learning the craft, and with focused graft? probably yes.
    Last edited by j6uk; 30 January 2014, 08:42 AM.

Comment