Videos on breakbuilding?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Videos on breakbuilding?

I have been playing snooker for about 5 years. I have gone through all the stages from learning to correct my stroke and stance to learning spin, draw, stun, safety play, etc. I wouldn't say all those skills are fully honed, but I have more than enough ability. My coach, friend, and mentor often say I have all the skills necessary to make 50+ breaks all the time and that I should have already made many centuries by now. Sadly, the tonne eludes me and my high break is 72 at the moment.

My biggest problem is that I often get lost in the black/pink and don't know where/when I should be opening up the reds to make a significant break. I am a very capable potter and sometimes clear up if the reds are open but the century seems insurmountable.

Are there any videos that will help me along?

Thanks
    Mayur Jobanputra, Snooker Coach and Snooker Enthusiast
    My Snooker Blog: www.snookerdelight.com

Hey man, have you seen this?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ircz2oF1I4g
    Willie thorne commentating on every shot of a maximum, i picked up some nice tips from it
    good luck

Comment

Thanks, yes I have seen that one before. Good link though! Saves me from having to shuffle through my DVD collection

Comment

YouTubes got of lot of stuff. Do a search like the one recommended above. I'm in the middle o preparing some stuff with Frank Callan.. Keep yer eyes peeled!

Comment

I still haven't found anything that will give me the "secret". Perhaps I need to work with a proper coach or something. I still don't see what I'm supposed to see but one thing I do get from watching snooker are the following rules

1. Pot reds in the corners whenever possible
          2. Direct cue ball "into" the line of the next shot
          3. Give yourself options when positioning for the next red
          4. Open the pack in such a way you still have an open red