Aiming woes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aiming woes

hey snooker gurus. Reading your posts I feel very humbled.

I'm really a beginner in this game by your standards and I notice that my progress is not as fast as I expect it to be.

I think I have major issues with my aiming skills. I've been working on my cueing technique and I am gaining consistency with long straight pots, so I'm happy there. However, my medium range aiming skills during typical break building are awful. I can typically sink a red and a colour, sometimes two reds and two colors in a single break. Rarely more than that. Oftentimes I miss shots that are really easy and end up with pitful breaks.

The trouble is, no matter how much time I invest in trying to improve my aiming skills I make little to no progress. I'm wondering if magic balls, laser guides and other gizmos helped anyone here with their aiming consistency. Is there any practice drills that target aiming skills specifically?

As I said, I believe my cueing isn't a problem. Simply because I can pot a straight or a small angle shot without difficulty even when the distance is large. But once more acute angles appear, I get it all messed up and end up back in the chair before I know it.

Please, please give some advice.

Hi again Canuck, I see you're online at the mo so I'll be brief.... do you think that you might be sighting or basically doing something different on a perceived easier shot than on a longer "more difficult" pot. I can sometime miss an easier shot if there's less room round a table coz I can't "walk into" the shot and therefore lose some accuracy. What's your shot preparation like? Do you imagine a "ghost ball" in front of the oject ball, can a friend place a real ball, on the potting angle and then move it out of the way to practice the absolute accurate angle?

over 2u squire.
    Head Still... Follow Through... Keep it Tight... Never Give Up... Ton 'em if you can!

Comment

reverse_side,