New to the forum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to the forum

Good evening guys & girls. My name is Ty, i'm 29 years old and live in Swindon, Wiltshire.

I started playing snooker 15/16 years ago as a young teen and worked at the 147 Snooker Club in Swindon as a snooker table cleaner. At the time, I wasn't old enough to be paid financially, so in return for my hard work, I was paid in free snooker time.
    I quickly found my self playing 6 hours a day, 5 days a week. I then went onto playing pool and snooker for my county as a late teen. It was at this point that I hit my highest break to date of 117 which was surprisingly hit with a cheap club cue....not my old £350 James Owen cue. Go figure lol.

I then went onto switching clubs and moved to Jesters Snooker Club in Swindon which I'm sure many have heard of. I played for them in the leagues for a year or so but had to leave Swindon due to unforeseen events. I moved to Cheltenham and was pleased to find a snooker club directly on my front door step called Pockets, this club was owned at the time by Stephen Lee's manager. I played in the premier league for a year and then lost heart in the game and stopped playing...

Quite a few years on, I've found my self wanting to play again and regain my skill in the game back....So I've started going up Jesters again and managed to hit a break of 26 last Saturday. Not quite an amount to shout about but after not lifting a cue for 7 years, I was quite pleased.

I'm currently on the look out for a cue...my budget is £130-£300. I have seen some Dunns cues and also Woods which both look like good value for money but can anyone comment? I would like to start playing regularly so happy to spend a half decent amount on a well made product.

Any advice on cues will be very much appreciated.

Ty

New to the forum

welcome to TSF
    Your story of coming back to the game is very common - myself included