Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Lowest Total Clearance?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • HemiRR
    replied
    In the late 70s Canadian pro John Bear ran a table clearance 72 against me in an exhibition match. Early in the frame, the yellow had been replaced by a red which took the spot with the yellow ending up maybe 6" from its corner pocket. John was forced to take on a shot to nothing which he potted and ended on the baulk cushion leaving a thin back cut on the yellow which he made (black spot was open) Given the angle on the yellow, John ended up in the balls. I think he had made 6 yellows, while unsuccessfully attempting to chip the black into play when he looks at me with that infectious smile of his and says I wonder if anyone has ever ran a perfect with yellows? Then continued the run making all yellows, then ran the colours for a "perfect" 72

    Leave a comment:


  • The Statman
    replied
    Originally posted by DeanH View Post
    the only time when the black is respotted and the cue ball in hand from the D is when the scores are level; all other times the following rule applies:sec 2.1
    Sec 2.1 Frame
    A frame of snooker comprises the period of the play from the start (see Section 3 Rule 3(c)), with all the balls set as described in Section 3 Rule 2, each player playing in turn until the frame is completed by:
    ...
    (c) the final pot or foul when; Black is the only object ball remaining on the table (see Section 3 Rule 4);
    As mentioned afterwards, the black would not be re-spotted.

    However, the 37 break would NOT count as a total clearance. For a total clearance, all balls must be potted. The black was not potted, it was fouled.

    Leave a comment:


  • _Harry_Potter_
    replied
    Originally posted by DeanH View Post
    the only time when the black is respotted and the cue ball in hand from the D is when the scores are level; all other times the following rule applies:sec 2.1
    Sec 2.1 Frame
    A frame of snooker comprises the period of the play from the start (see Section 3 Rule 3(c)), with all the balls set as described in Section 3 Rule 2, each player playing in turn until the frame is completed by:
    ...
    (c) the final pot or foul when; Black is the only object ball remaining on the table (see Section 3 Rule 4);
    Thanks DeanH. I forgot the score equal part - Told you..not that good with rules.

    As we are talking of frame completion..I remember one time when Ronnie was playing against Michael Holt and Ronnie scored some total 75 points and Holt was around 20 I guess. Ronnie missed the color clearance and sat in his seat as there were only 27 points on table and he was well ahead. The frame win counter was increased for Ronnie obviously expecting M. Holt won't continue his game but surprisingly he continued playing and tried to give Ronnie a snooker on Yellow.

    It was really funny how Ronnie deliberately started hitting blue/pink/brown balls just out of annoyance. He was literally laughing at Holt stupidity as if he thought he would cover 60 points with snookes. Ronnie didn't pot a single on-color ball and kept on playing foul balls, even Referee had to come by the smiling Ronnie side and told him to play nicely but its Ronnie we are talking.

    Finally Holt, out of his own shame or crowd laughs, cleared the color balls with some really good long pots and close cushions shots. It was really funny watching Ronnie playing foul shots just to satisfy Holt stupidity.
    Last edited by _Harry_Potter_; 1 September 2015, 11:44 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • DeanH
    replied
    Originally posted by _Harry_Potter_ View Post
    Well in this case, not all 21 balls are cleared by the player. As the last one is in-off, so the black will be re-placed with cue ball in Baulk D area for the opposite player. So in this case, it is neither total clearance nor all balls are considered legally pot and accounted for..Or am I missing something here..I am not that good in snooker rules.
    the only time when the black is respotted and the cue ball in hand from the D is when the scores are level; all other times the following rule applies:sec 2.1
    Sec 2.1 Frame
    A frame of snooker comprises the period of the play from the start (see Section 3 Rule 3(c)), with all the balls set as described in Section 3 Rule 2, each player playing in turn until the frame is completed by:
    ...
    (c) the final pot or foul when; Black is the only object ball remaining on the table (see Section 3 Rule 4);

    Leave a comment:


  • _Harry_Potter_
    replied
    Originally posted by les147 View Post
    The lowest possible break in snooker, clearing ALL 21 balls, is 37

    This is achieved as follows:

    The player breaks and all 15 reds are potted (not likely but theoretically possible): 15 points
    He takes one yellow with these reds: 17 points
    He pots yellow, green, brown, blue and pink: 37 points
    He then pots the black but goes in off with the white so the black does not count!

    Total score: 37 points
    Well in this case, not all 21 balls are cleared by the player. As the last one is in-off, so the black will be re-placed with cue ball in Baulk D area for the opposite player. So in this case, it is neither total clearance nor all balls are considered legally pot and accounted for..Or am I missing something here..I am not that good in snooker rules.

    Leave a comment:


  • ADR147
    replied
    I could not swear to it but I am pretty sure I have done it in under 100 points after one of those safety battles that stick all the reds behind the baulk line.

    Leave a comment:


  • Master Blaster
    replied
    Originally posted by Odrl View Post
    I remember reading on here a while back about someone trying to pot all 15 reds as a trickshot, but got nowhere near no matter how he positioned them. It would be interesting to see how many you could realistically get.
    I'd let someone place the balls any which way they wanted to on the table and I'd bet against them potting all 15 in one go.

    Leave a comment:


  • Odrl
    replied
    I remember reading on here a while back about someone trying to pot all 15 reds as a trickshot, but got nowhere near no matter how he positioned them. It would be interesting to see how many you could realistically get.

    Leave a comment:


  • Master Blaster
    replied
    Originally posted by golferson123 View Post
    surely the laws of physics says it is possible its the laws of probability which says its unlikely
    The problem would be energy loss even if the balls were in such a formation that they could all pot. There's just no way of hitting the CB hard enough with 18oz to be able to transfer enough energy in to the reds to sink them all. Probability wouldn't be such a factor, as if the collision causing 15 pots is on, then it's on.

    Leave a comment:


  • golferson123
    replied
    Lowest Total Clearance?

    surely the laws of physics says it is possible its the laws of probability which says its unlikely

    Leave a comment:


  • les147
    replied
    But possible

    Leave a comment:


  • Master Blaster
    replied
    Originally posted by les147 View Post
    The lowest possible break in snooker, clearing ALL 21 balls, is 37

    This is achieved as follows:

    The player breaks and all 15 reds are potted (not likely but theoretically possible): 15 points
    He takes one yellow with these reds: 17 points
    He pots yellow, green, brown, blue and pink: 37 points
    He then pots the black but goes in off with the white so the black does not count!

    Total score: 37 points
    I don't think it's possible due to the laws of physics on the table. I mean, to sink all fifteen balls in one go would require a force that would make the cue ball leave the table?

    Leave a comment:


  • les147
    replied
    The lowest possible break in snooker, clearing ALL 21 balls, is 37

    This is achieved as follows:

    The player breaks and all 15 reds are potted (not likely but theoretically possible): 15 points
    He takes one yellow with these reds: 17 points
    He pots yellow, green, brown, blue and pink: 37 points
    He then pots the black but goes in off with the white so the black does not count!

    Total score: 37 points

    Leave a comment:


  • pottr
    replied
    I can believe it... Some frames you get the reds scattered everywhere beyond the blue spot...

    A clearance wouldn't be too tricky, if only you thought to do it, but of course in a game where you need to score as many points as possible, it's counter intuitive...

    Leave a comment:


  • fredkite
    replied
    Lowest Total Clearance?

    A friend of mine reckons one of the Lindrum's got a 97 TC. Only time he potted blue, pink or black was at the end of the frame.

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X