Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cornered

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Cornered

    I you are cornered by an opponent's foul, are you snookered and have the option of nominating or having your opponent shoot again?
    Thanks, Ed

  • #2
    I assume you are talking about the curved part of a pocket cushion when you say "cornered".

    If the cushion is closer to the cue-ball than any ball that could be a snookering ball, then you are NOT snookered (see rule below), so no option of a free ball; after a foul, you have the normal options: (1) play the shot yourself, (2) put the opponent to play from where the balls comes to rest, or (3) if a Miss called have the balls replaced and the opponent play again.

    as per rule:
    sec 2.17 (e) The cue-ball cannot be snookered by a cushion. If the curved face of a cushion obstructs the cue-ball and is closer to the cue-ball than any obstructing ball not on, the cue-ball is not snookered.

    see this brilliant old post and the one following it (link at bottom)
    http://www.thesnookerforum.co.uk/boa...f-you-have-one
    Last edited by DeanH; 9th February 2018, 09:36 PM.
    Up the TSF!

    Comment


    • #3
      Probably the question should say: If you are cornered after an opponent fouls.........

      Comment


      • #4
        If he fouled then you can make him play again

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by Ed Mad Dog Bliss View Post
          Probably the question should say: If you are cornered after an opponent fouls.........
          nope, it read ok
          your question was, after a foul you are snookered by the curved part of a cushion, do you have a free ball option? - NO, you cant be snookered by a cushion
          no snooker = no free ball option

          as JRC says, put the little-blighter back in
          Up the TSF!

          Comment

          Working...
          X