Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Free ball rule.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Free ball rule.

    If the object ball is on the side cushion and the cue ball is down the table at the other end and its a foul is it considered a free ball since you can not hit both sides of the ball?

  • #2
    Hi, Palerider1:

    I assume you mean shooting down the cushion.

    As per the WPBSA Rules of Snooker, Section 2, Rule 17,

    "(e) The cue-ball cannot be snookered by a cushion. If the curved face of a cushion obstructs the cue-ball and is closer to the cue-ball than any obstructing ball not on, the cue-ball is not snookered".

    No mention is made of your exact scenario in the rules. However, we can guess that, 1) since a cushion cannot snooker the cue ball, and 2) since it impossible to hit the other extreme of the ball in any scenario (the cushion is not the same as a ball that is in the way; the cushion's position never changes, and any ball resting against it will not be able to be hit on all sides), a free ball should not be called.

    Comment


    • #3
      see this great post
      http://www.thesnookerforum.co.uk/boa...f-you-have-one
      (and the linked one http://www.thesnookerforum.co.uk/boa...-t)-do-with-it

      But neither of these details the straight of the cushion.
      As has been said above, a cushion can not snooker the cue ball and that the rules only discuss the jaw of a cushion, never directly the straight of a cushion - to me this infers that the straight of a cushion is NOT considered ever.
      So does this mean:
      (a) the extreme edge of the ball on that can physically be hit,
      OR
      (b) the cushion is invisible and the extreme edge of the ball on could be beyond the line of the cushion but physically impossible to hit,
      to determine if a free ball is called.
      To be clear, "Extreme edge" does not mean the 180deg full diameter of the ball but - as can be seen in "Free Ball – how to judge if you have one" - the extreme edges changes as the distance of the cue ball from the ball on changes.

      Personally I have taken (a) where you can physically contact the ball on as the extreme edge to determine a free ball.

      Looking forward to further discussion
      Last edited by DeanH; 27th April 2018, 07:35 AM.
      Up the TSF!

      Comment


      • #4
        "The cue-ball is said to be snookered when a direct stroke in a straight line to every ball on is wholly or partially obstructed by a ball or balls not on."

        In other words, only another ball that cannot be legally hit can snooker you.

        Tim Dunkley (World Snooker coach)
        http://www.snooker-coach.co.uk

        Comment


        • #5
          The fittings of a table (pockets, cushions) are not classed as an obstruction, so the answer is no.
          Speak up, you've got to speak up against the madness, you've got speak your mind if you dare
          but don't try to get yourself elected, for if you do you'll have to cut your hair

          Comment


          • #6
            From the long thread about a freeball and the angle of the middle pocket....

            1, it is the first object which is relevant
            2, the target\required to be able to get the CB in is an area\line from one extremity to the other of a legal ball, otherwise it is a Free Ball
            3, The FIRST obstruction is the ONLY relevant obstruction.
            4, if an "illegal ball" prevents hitting 2, then it is a FB.
            5, a cushion is not relevant re Free Balls, but is an obstruction if the angles etc break the line to 2
            6, if the snooker was played of a FB and that ball is the first obstruction, then it is a Foul - and inevitably a FB.

            Comment


            • #7
              You can snooker behind the nominated ball when only the pink and black or left on the table

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by HemiRR View Post
                You can snooker behind the nominated ball when only the pink and black or left on the table
                And after you've potted a red!
                Duplicate of banned account deleted

                Comment

                Working...
                X