Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Some questions about free ball situations

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Some questions about free ball situations

    2 cases:

    1.
    Situation:
    Blue, pink and black on the table. Blue is close to a corner pocket, pink just more than 1 ball in front of the middle pocket. White somewhere behind the pink. You get a freeball.
    You need blue and pink and it would be perfect to just pot the blue and stay on the easy pink. But the room to get white through is very narrow and so very risky. Just to be sure not to foul, you nominate pink as a free ball (in case you hit it while trying to get through the gap). Luckyly (?) you find the gap and pot blue.

    Is this a foul shot? Do you have to hit the nominated ball first or not?

    2.
    Situation:
    Only colors left, yellow in front of a pocket. You get a freeball and nominate green ball. You play green on yellow and both drop.

    Yellow will stay off the table, green get's respotted and becomes the ball on. Do you get 2 or 4 points? i would say only 2 points, but not 100% sure.

  • #2
    Originally posted by wade View Post
    2 cases:

    1.
    Situation:
    Blue, pink and black on the table. Blue is close to a corner pocket, pink just more than 1 ball in front of the middle pocket. White somewhere behind the pink. You get a freeball.
    You need blue and pink and it would be perfect to just pot the blue and stay on the easy pink. But the room to get white through is very narrow and so very risky. Just to be sure not to foul, you nominate pink as a free ball (in case you hit it while trying to get through the gap). Luckyly (?) you find the gap and pot blue.

    Is this a foul shot? Do you have to hit the nominated ball first or not?
    FOUL - the nominated ball must be hit by the cue ball FIRST.
    why not nominate pink ball and play the pink to the pot the blue?

    Originally posted by wade View Post
    2.
    Situation:
    Only colors left, yellow in front of a pocket. You get a freeball and nominate green ball. You play green on yellow and both drop.

    Yellow will stay off the table, green get's respotted and becomes the ball on. Do you get 2 or 4 points? i would say only 2 points, but not 100% sure.
    Score 2 points, yellow stays off the table, the green is spotted.



    for further info see
    http://www.thesnookerforum.co.uk/boa...-t)-do-with-it
    Up the TSF!

    Comment


    • #3
      Well, if you would pot blue directly, you would always have an easy pink. If you play pink on blue, you are not 100% sure wat will happen, maybe the pink goes in with te blue, or it ends up very difficult...

      Thx for clearing it up

      Comment


      • #4
        yep, understood that but using the pink to pot the blue keeps you on the table and you opponent off it with out a clear danger of fouling, play the pink in way for make it pop out nicely

        6 and half-a-dozen
        Up the TSF!

        Comment


        • #5
          Both are foul.

          In the 2nd case, it is 4 points for the opponent, and both, yellow and green are respotted. The colour ball don´t come back to the ball only if it is legally spooted (if you pocket the object ball and the cue ball, along with the foul, object ball comes back to table)

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by cesard View Post
            Both are foul.

            In the 2nd case, it is 4 points for the opponent, and both, yellow and green are respotted. The colour ball don´t come back to the ball only if it is legally spooted (if you pocket the object ball and the cue ball, along with the foul, object ball comes back to table)
            It is NOT a foul !!!

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by cesard View Post
              Both are foul.

              In the 2nd case, it is 4 points for the opponent, and both, yellow and green are respotted. The colour ball don´t come back to the ball only if it is legally spooted (if you pocket the object ball and the cue ball, along with the foul, object ball comes back to table)
              sorry but no, scenario 2 is not a foul.
              It is legal to nominate a free ball, hit that free ball onto the ball that is on.
              If the ball on is potted on its own - it is scored of the value of the ball on and spotted.
              If the free ball is potted on its own - it is scored of the value of the ball on and spotted.
              If both free ball and ball on are potted - only one score of the value of the ball on and both are spotted. - error see message below – nominated ball stays off the table and ball on spotted.


              Originally posted by cesard View Post
              …(if you pocket the object ball and the cue ball, along with the foul, object ball comes back to table)
              If the cue ball is pocketed, then the cue ball also comes back to the table as Ball In Hand.
              Last edited by DeanH; 4th May 2019, 10:46 AM.
              Up the TSF!

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by DeanH View Post
                sorry but no, scenario 2 is not a foul.
                It is legal to nominate a free ball, hit that free ball onto the ball that is on.
                If the ball on is potted on its own - it is scored of the value of the ball on and respotted.
                If the free ball is potted on its own - it is scored of the value of the ball on and respotted.
                If both free ball and ball on are potted - only one score of the value of the ball on and both at spotted.



                If the cue ball is pocketed, then the cue ball also comes back to the table as Ball In Hand.
                Dean you know better than that!

                If a free ball is nominated and you hit it first, but also cause the ball on to be potted then the ball on stays down. The ball on would only be spotted if a foul was committed during the stroke.
                Duplicate of banned account deleted

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by Londonlad147 View Post
                  Dean you know better than that!

                  If a free ball is nominated and you hit it first, but also cause the ball on to be potted then the ball on stays down. The ball on would only be spotted if a foul was committed during the stroke.
                  In fact that's the reason why the last rule book brought in the statement that a free ball can't be the ball on. That means that if a player comes to the table 28 points down, with just the colours left, he can't nominate yellow as a free ball, pot it and then have it spotted to be be potted again as the next colour in sequence.
                  Duplicate of banned account deleted

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by jrc750 View Post
                    It is NOT a foul !!!
                    Originally posted by DeanH View Post
                    sorry but no, scenario 2 is not a foul.
                    It is legal to nominate a free ball, hit that free ball onto the ball that is on.
                    If the ball on is potted on its own - it is scored of the value of the ball on and respotted.
                    If the free ball is potted on its own - it is scored of the value of the ball on and respotted.
                    If both free ball and ball on are potted - only one score of the value of the ball on and both at spotted.



                    If the cue ball is pocketed, then the cue ball also comes back to the table as Ball In Hand.

                    Interesting then.I´ve just learnt something new

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by cesard View Post
                      Interesting then.I´ve just learnt something new
                      Cesard, Barry Stark has a nice video on u-tube if you fancy watching it.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by Londonlad147 View Post
                        Dean you know better than that!

                        If a free ball is nominated and you hit it first, but also cause the ball on to be potted then the ball on stays down. The ball on would only be spotted if a foul was committed during the stroke.
                        Originally posted by Londonlad147 View Post
                        In fact that's the reason why the last rule book brought in the statement that a free ball can't be the ball on. That means that if a player comes to the table 28 points down, with just the colours left, he can't nominate yellow as a free ball, pot it and then have it spotted to be be potted again as the next colour in sequence.
                        oh my gawd! what was I on?
                        cheers LL!

                        was it Friday 13th yesterday? so much weird stuff happened in my day!
                        Up the TSF!

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          So only 2 points for potting both yellow and green?

                          I think it was McManus who said that with just Pink and Black on the table and a free ball then a snooker behind the Black is permissible. Is that correct?

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Originally posted by blahblah01 View Post
                            So only 2 points for potting both yellow and green?

                            I think it was McManus who said that with just Pink and Black on the table and a free ball then a snooker behind the Black is permissible. Is that correct?
                            Yes correct.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Originally posted by cesard View Post
                              Interesting then.I´ve just learnt something new
                              Unfortunately it is not wholly correct!
                              Duplicate of banned account deleted

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X