Cues manufacture technicality

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cues manufacture technicality

As I am fairly new to this cue production and manufacturing world, I have some dillemas that I need your help with.

1. How is possible for 3/4 cue to be spliced when the butt is completly detachable from the shaft? Where are the splices then? And what's the point of having them?
    2. Are there "unspliced" cues on the market (just painted) or every cue is spliced whetherwhether hand or machine? (One piece and 3/4 cue

Thank you

(not a cue-maker ) Generally they add butt splicing of ebony or rosewood (most common) to add weight to the cue, either the splicing themselves or to hidden the added weight (lead sluigs0 added to the shaft.. Without splicing a cue will be very light.

1. they do the slicing and then cut the cue for the joint. Also if the joint is no where near the butt splices points (top & bottom) and any "front splicing" you can do the "front splicing" after cutting.
    2. I have only seen two cues that had no butts splicing and they were very nice ash 1pc cues, both were light at around 16oz - both owners were used to them as they had had the cues for years.

I hope our resident cue-makers come on and add their comments
    Up the TSF! :snooker:

Comment

Thank you for your answer. It does make sense. So basically, a cue heavier than 16oz is almost impossible to be unspliced, right? Even if the butt is made from dense ebony there is no point of not adding the splicing on such a premium wood. Thanks mate

Comment