Rob Walker Interview

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rob Walker Interview

Now before I let you read this interview I tought I would let you all know something!! before we see the final of The Betfred.com World Snooker Championships on the TV we will be testing something out with Rob Walker on The Forum!!! more on that in a few days tough.

ferret

Right and here it is a Interview with Rob Walker.

First of all Rob Walker thanks very much for agreeing to be interviewed- I know it is a bit out of your schedule and how busy you are throughout this tournament.

First being are the MC - your job to get the crowd going, excited before a game- just tell me how you came by the actual job itself

Well, it was a bit of luck really, I had been working for the BBC for about four years as a behind the camera guy and then I left to pursue reporting. And I think it was about November 2007 I got a phone call from the BBC saying that someone from World Snooker had phoned the Beeb to say we desperatly need to find a new MC and they asked the BBC for recommendations and they said try this guy Rob Walker because I had my licence as a boxing MC for about 3 years. I don't do a huge amount of it but I quite like working with live crowds and the BBC knew that so I think they just thought we'll put World Snooker in touch with Rob and see how it goes so Mike Ganley rang me, he asked me to do the 2007 at Telford as a trial and he said right if we like you at that one we'll get you back for Wembley which they did, he said right if we like you at Newport and we'll get you for the worlds. So then I did Newport and then I did the Worlds and signed up properly last summer so yes it has been a bit of a lucky break really because I'm a reporter. This is the only MC'ing I do and those two are different skills obviously but I do enjoy working with live crowds and yeah I kind of enjoyed it right from the start and thought if I can I want to keep this going

rob1