Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cue rotation - good or bad?

Hi!
    I'm playing for a month (so a complete newbie) and I'm learning the fundametals.
    I noticed that my hand opens slightly on the backswing and the cue starts to rotate a bit during that motion. when I deliver the cue it rotates back. The cue action stays straight during that process.
    I also had a closer look on professional players and noticed that some players do it and others don't.

Is the rotation normal or should I change anything?

The cue shouldn't be rotating at all. It should only glide back and forth in a straight line.

Are you twisting your wrist as you cue?

Also. Which pro have you noticed that rotates his cue?

Comment

not sure but it seems ronnie turns his cue slightly anti clockwise.

Comment

its a real pain to deal with better without, domonic dale twists

Comment

I think tabularza is referring to the loose grip fingers opening up on the drawback.
          Yep many do and many dont, personal preference, the benefit is that this method usually ensures the cue stays flat in the draw back and delivery and not to seesaw.
          Up the TSF! :snooker:

Comment

Here is Shaun Murphy making his 147. Notice how the hand opens up as he draws the cue back. The cue does not rotate at all.

Comment

Jimmy used to spin his cue intentionally, not when he played the shot, it was just before he got his chin down, i wonder if he still does it?
              After 15 reds and 15 blacks i did this http://youtu.be/DupuczMS2o4

Comment

Originally Posted by DeanH View Post
                I think tabularza is referring to the loose grip fingers opening up on the drawback.
                Yep many do and many dont, personal preference, the benefit is that this method usually ensures the cue stays flat in the draw back and delivery and not to seesaw.