Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

free ball

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • free ball

    i am partially snookered but i can see a red with the pink directly behind it in a direct set to the pocket.Can i nominate the pink and hit the red to knock the pink in, i think not.

    if not

    if i nominate the pink but clip the red before i hit it without knocking the pink in is this a foul, i think not.

    can anybody clarify this?

  • #2
    You must hit the nominated ball first or simultaneously with the ball on.

    Tim Dunkley (World Snooker coach)
    http://www.snooker-coach.co.uk

    Comment


    • #3
      So you can nominate a colour as a red - combo onto a red and keep shooting, but not hit a red to make a plant onto a nominated colour as a red.?
      I try hard, play hard and dont always succeed, at first.!!!!

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by sharkster63 View Post
        So you can nominate a colour as a red - combo onto a red and keep shooting, but not hit a red to make a plant onto a nominated colour as a red.?
        Why do you think it would be ok to hit another ball first before the nominated ball ??

        Comment


        • #5
          is it then a foul if you hit the ball on first rather than the nominated ball ?

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by ricochet View Post
            is it then a foul if you hit the ball on first rather than the nominated ball ?
            If you nominate a ball, that is the ball on !

            Comment


            • #7
              what i am asking is, if i accidently hit the red first before i hit the pink,( which is my nominated ball as a red )is it a foul.Surely it cant be because there is more than 1 ball on when you nominate a free ball, the ball you are snookered on, plus the ball you have nominated.Similarly when there are only the colours on,if you were to nominate another colour as the yellow , then miscue and actually hit the yellow , is that a foul

              Comment


              • #8
                Yes and Yes.

                Sec 2.12(a) Nominated Ball states:
                "A nominated ball is the object ball which the striker declares, or indicates to the satisfaction of the referee, he undertakes to hit with the first impact of the cue-ball."

                The nominated ball MUST be hit first, if you hit anything else before impacting the nominated ball it is a foul.
                Up the TSF!

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by jrc750 View Post
                  Why do you think it would be ok to hit another ball first before the nominated ball ??
                  I dont think it is ok, i am just explaining things in a simple way to view the rule
                  I try hard, play hard and dont always succeed, at first.!!!!

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by sharkster63 View Post
                    So you can nominate a colour as a red - combo onto a red and keep shooting, but not hit a red to make a plant onto a nominated colour as a red.?
                    That is correct, because if you nominate a ball other than the ball on as your free ball then you have to hit that nominated ball first.
                    Duplicate of banned account deleted

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by sharkster63 View Post
                      I dont think it is ok, i am just explaining things in a simple way to view the rule
                      You put a question mark after your statement, which suggested you didn't know the answer

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by jrc750 View Post
                        You put a question mark after your statement, which suggested you didn't know the answer
                        Your right, I was thinking of using it to say is this right.
                        I try hard, play hard and dont always succeed, at first.!!!!

                        Comment

                        Working...
                        X