Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Unusual snooker rule question

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Unusual snooker rule question

    Got asked a strange one the other day that I haven't heard of before.

    A shot into the reds knocks the black and the pink into pockets and all the spots are now covered except the Blue spot.

    Which ball goes on the blue spot and where does the other ball go?
    Snooker Crazy - Cues and Equipment Sales Website
    Snooker Crazy - Facebook Page
    Snooker Crazy - You Tube Channel

  • #2
    I'd guess that the black goes on the blue spot, and the pink follows the same rules when all the spots are covered.

    i.e as near to it's spot in a direct line towards the black cushion.

    Comment


    • #3
      I'm not sure which ball would be spotted first, but the other ball will go as close as possible to its spot, whilst keeping in a straight line with it.

      Comment


      • #4
        Well I think we're all in agreement about the ball not going back on the blue spot but it's still an interesting one as to which ball gets spotted first.

        Personally I'd go for the highest value ball but I guess that's the point, I don't know.

        It'll be interesting if someone knows the answer.
        Snooker Crazy - Cues and Equipment Sales Website
        Snooker Crazy - Facebook Page
        Snooker Crazy - You Tube Channel

        Comment


        • #5
          Highest (black) goes on the blue.

          Comment


          • #6
            Unusual snooker rule question

            in the rules it states that if multiple colour balls are pocketed, the highest value ball is spotted first - if its spot is occupied then it goes to the highest spot available; then the next highest value ball to be spotted, etc.
            If all spots are covered then the ball goes as close as possible to its own spot in a direct line to the top (black) cushion without touching any other ball.
            Last edited by DeanH; 1st May 2016, 08:17 PM.
            Up the TSF!

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by DeanH View Post
              in the rules it states that if multiple colour balls are pocketed, the highest value ball is spotted first - if its spot is occupied then it goes to the highest spot available; then the next highest value ball to be spotted, etc.
              If all spots are covered then the ball goes as close as possible to its own spot in a direct line to the top (black) cushion without touching any other ball.
              Yep! That sounds right...very nice answer
              Snooker Crazy - Cues and Equipment Sales Website
              Snooker Crazy - Facebook Page
              Snooker Crazy - You Tube Channel

              Comment


              • #8
                Unusual snooker rule question

                got to add that if the ball's own spot was available then it goes on its own spot.
                if say the brown and black where pocketed, and the black spot covered and brown spot available, the brown would be spotted, then the black would go on the highest available or closest to its own spot.
                Last edited by DeanH; 1st May 2016, 08:33 PM.
                Up the TSF!

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by DeanH View Post
                  got to add that if the ball's own spot was available then it goes on its own spot.
                  if say the brown and black where pocketed, and the black spot covered and brown spot available, the brown would be spotted, then the black would go on the highest available or closest to its own spot.
                  Good point Dean
                  Snooker Crazy - Cues and Equipment Sales Website
                  Snooker Crazy - Facebook Page
                  Snooker Crazy - You Tube Channel

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Unusual snooker rule question

                    basically
                    those balls that can go on their own spots - are spotted.
                    those left - highest first to any available... etc.
                    Up the TSF!

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Maybe we should start a thread for unusual snooker rules for all those obscure ones that crop up every now and again.....
                      Snooker Crazy - Cues and Equipment Sales Website
                      Snooker Crazy - Facebook Page
                      Snooker Crazy - You Tube Channel

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Question I was asked today: Player A goes in-off, so Player B has ball in hand. Player B puts the ball into the D, and plays his shot, but commits a foul and it's called a miss. Player A opts to put the balls back. Does the white go back to where B put it, or does B have ball in hand again?

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Should be where player b placed it.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Originally posted by AndrewB View Post
                            Question I was asked today: Player A goes in-off, so Player B has ball in hand. Player B puts the ball into the D, and plays his shot, but commits a foul and it's called a miss. Player A opts to put the balls back. Does the white go back to where B put it, or does B have ball in hand again?
                            If a miss is called and the balls are replaced, then the offender has to play from the exact same position as the previous stroke, and has exactly the same choices open to him as to what ball to go for, eg on a colour he still has a choice of colours, but more importantly (although a lot less likely), if he had a free ball the first time around,t hen he'd still have a free ball choice if the balls are replaced.
                            Duplicate of banned account deleted

                            Comment

                            Working...
                            X