Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

If the ref forgets to warn?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Billy
    started a topic If the ref forgets to warn?

    If the ref forgets to warn?

    If a referee forgets to warn a player after two consecutive misses, as Collier did just now with Murphy, that a third miss will result in frame forfeit, and the player does go on to miss, what happens?

  • Londonlad147
    replied
    Originally posted by MrRottweiler View Post
    it would be bad etiquette to try to get out of it with the excuse of no warning
    Sometimes, though, it is not clear cut whether the striker has central fuill ball contact available to him (a requirement for the awarding of a frame after three misses). It can be a very close call on occasions and if a warning is not given after two misses the striker and/or the non-striker might believe that the referee does not consider there to be central fuill ball contact available, so you really can't put the onus on the players.

    Leave a comment:


  • MrRottweiler
    replied
    The rulebook should state that the players themselves should be aware of it regardless of a warning. It only happens when they miss everything so they know the score during the third attempt and it would be bad etiquette to try to get out of it with the excuse of no warning. I suspect most players would be confused enough to query it with the ref before the shot.

    Leave a comment:


  • Billy
    replied
    Originally posted by Mr Snooker View Post
    This happened in a tournament some years ago not sure which tournament it was or who the referee was, but one of the players involved was Ken Doherty, when Ken said to referee I thought I was awarded the frame after 3 consecutive misses, The referee replied with I forgot to warn him and his opponent played the shot again, but the referee did warn him on before his 4th attempt. Be nice if anyone knows who is opponent was and who the referee was and which tournament also.
    Ah, well there you go then. Thanks. Looks like @DeanH was right.

    Leave a comment:


  • Mr Snooker
    replied
    Originally posted by Billy View Post
    If a referee forgets to warn a player after two consecutive misses, as Collier did just now with Murphy, that a third miss will result in frame forfeit, and the player does go on to miss, what happens?
    This happened in a tournament some years ago not sure which tournament it was or who the referee was, but one of the players involved was Ken Doherty, when Ken said to referee I thought I was awarded the frame after 3 consecutive misses, The referee replied with I forgot to warn him and his opponent played the shot again, but the referee did warn him on before his 4th attempt. Be nice if anyone knows who is opponent was and who the referee was and which tournament also.

    Leave a comment:


  • Billy
    replied
    Originally posted by vmax View Post
    Surely it's up to the non striker to remind the ref of the the three miss rule after the second miss with no warning given, I certainly would.
    But what if the non-striker also fails to notice?

    Leave a comment:


  • vmax
    replied
    Surely it's up to the non striker to remind the ref of the three miss rule after the second miss with no warning given, I certainly would.
    Last edited by vmax; 27th April 2018, 09:31 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Londonlad147
    replied
    Normally if both players disagree with the referee over a matter of opinion, then the referee will bow to the decision of the players.

    Leave a comment:


  • blahblah01
    replied
    Originally posted by narl View Post
    I'm not sure if I wouldn't count as a foul regardless of the warning being missing. I remember in China Neil Robertson played a shot to the middle, the ball bounced out due to too many balls in the pocket, Robertson said it was the referees fault and the referee denied it was. Not sure what way it was resolved.
    Hmm ref just called foul aand miss and both plyers said Freak off it hit, so Ref backed down...

    Leave a comment:


  • blahblah01
    replied
    I think that is slightly different, as not prior to the shot...

    I have a vague memory of both players thinking it was a Free Ball, but not the Ref - and nope, not much of a clue what happened, but a lil voice in my head whispering that it was no FB.

    Leave a comment:


  • narl
    replied
    I'm not sure if I wouldn't count as a foul regardless of the warning being missing. I remember in China Neil Robertson played a shot to the middle, the ball bounced out due to too many balls in the pocket, Robertson said it was the referees fault and the referee denied it was. Not sure what way it was resolved.

    Leave a comment:


  • blahblah01
    replied
    Play on, as Player needs to know it is third miss and lost Frame?

    (Well unless it's Murphy, who would expect the Frame )

    Leave a comment:


  • Billy
    replied
    Originally posted by DeanH View Post
    that is certainly an interesting twist on it, doubt many players will bank on the referee not to call the warning
    No, of course, and I wasn't suggesting any player would. If it did happen it would certainly be a talking point for a while. I would expect the offending player to do the decent thing when the blunder is noticed... question is what would that be??

    Final frame decider, player 1 makes three consecutive fouls. Referee then realises what's happened and issues the warning he should have on the previous shot. Player 1 makes a legal shot and then, ultimately, goes on to win. Ooooh.
    Last edited by Billy; 23rd April 2018, 07:30 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • DeanH
    replied
    Originally posted by Billy View Post
    Mmm, interesting take. So if you're correct, a player can effectively 'get away' with three consecutive misses?
    that is certainly an interesting twist on it, doubt many players will bank on the referee not to call the warning

    Leave a comment:


  • Londonlad147
    replied
    Originally posted by Billy View Post
    Mmm, interesting take. So if you're correct, a player can effectively 'get away' with three consecutive misses?
    Yes, I'd agree with Dean, if the referee forgets to warn the player, then no frame can be awarded until a failed attempt after a warning has been given. It's not laid down in the rule book, but it's the same principle as in billiards, where the rules do specifically say that if the referee forgets to warn at 10 hazards or 70 cannons, then the striker can continue to make 5 further hazards or cannons once a warning has been given.

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X