Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Another 'Free ball' question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Another 'Free ball' question

    Brown to Black left on the table and a 'Free ball' has been called. The Brown is in direct line with a pocket and the Black is touching the Brown and is forming a 100% pottable plant. Can you nominate the Black as the Free Ball and thus pot the Brown in the same move or would this be a foul as the Black is the nominated ball and you have potted something else. If it is allowed, does the Brown stay down or is it re-spotted?

  • #2
    1. Ok to nominate the Black as Free Ball to pot the Brown. Brown is ball on and is not spotted. Essentially the Black is a brown for the shot. So long as the nominated ball is contacted by the cue ball first; if not Foul.
    2. Score 4.
    3. Blue now ball on.


    4. If both Brown and Black are potted, Brown not spotted, Black is spotted. Score 4 (not 8 )
    Last edited by DeanH; 31st October 2018, 07:14 PM.
    Up the TSF!

    Comment


    • #3
      Thank you DeanH, much appreciated.

      Comment


      • #4
        What Dean said... but you can simultaneously hit the nominated free ball and ball on.
        Duplicate of banned account deleted

        Comment


        • #5
          What if you nominate the black as free ball and miss it and hit the brown, presumably that’s ok???

          Comment


          • #6
            Another 'Free ball' question

            no, the nominated free ball must be hit by the cue ball first. Not contacting the nominated free ball first is a foul.
            As londonlad said, you can simultaneously hit the ball on and nominated free ball.
            Last edited by DeanH; 15th December 2018, 06:24 PM.
            Up the TSF!

            Comment


            • #7
              Simultaneously hitting a ball with another ball of the same value is not a foul which is why I was thinking hitting the brown after nominating black in a free ball situation wouldn’t result in a foul as it has the same point value?? I’m definitely no expert on this matter but try to apply a bit of logic where the rules are concerned.

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by black21920 View Post
                Simultaneously hitting a ball with another ball of the same value is not a foul which is why I was thinking hitting the brown after nominating black in a free ball situation wouldn’t result in a foul as it has the same point value?? I’m definitely no expert on this matter but try to apply a bit of logic where the rules are concerned.
                You have strange logic then
                How can you name a ball then miss it and expect that to be ok lol

                Comment


                • #9
                  Well there appears no logic to say that it is ok to strike brown and black simultaneously when black is nominated ball and the brown wasn’t, striking another ball simultaneously would normally result in a foul, you haven’t hit the nominated ball first on this occasion hence my reasoning to suggest that hitting the brown after nominating the black would also be ok??

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Another 'Free ball' question

                    the rules state
                    1. nominated free ball must be hit first

                    and elsewhere
                    2. simultaneously hitting two balls is a foul; except two reds, or a ball on and a nominated free ball.


                    In snooker the free ball must be hit first, in UK pool this is not the case

                    Where you say "ok to strike brown and black simultaneously when black is nominated ball and the brown wasn’t" is not correct - the brown being ball on is automatically "nominated". So for that strike you in essence have two browns on the table and like multiple reds you can hit two of the same colour simultaneously this stroke only.
                    Last edited by DeanH; 15th December 2018, 07:06 PM.
                    Up the TSF!

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Yes it’s a confusing one, like you say brown is the ball on and is automatically nominated which is why I didn’t think it would be a foul hitting the brown as the cue ball essentially has hit a nominated ball first even though you have declared your intention to hit the black

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Another 'Free ball' question

                        the brown is the ball on
                        the black is the nominated FREE ball

                        "...the nominated FREE ball must be hit first..."
                        Up the TSF!

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Originally posted by DeanH View Post
                          Where you say "ok to strike brown and black simultaneously when black is nominated ball and the brown wasn’t" is not correct - the brown being ball on is automatically "nominated".
                          That's not strictly correct: the brown ball is not nominated in the free ball scenario. If a free ball is *nominated* (ie indicated the satisfaction of the referee that it is the first ball he will strike), then the brown is not nominated, but does remain a ball on... just one which cannot be struck first (unless simultaneously with the nominated free ball).
                          Duplicate of banned account deleted

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            I see where you are coming from, noted
                            Up the TSF!

                            Comment

                            Working...
                            X