Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Foul question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Foul question

    I saw this question:
    "if you miss a red hit a blue then the white hits the black. What is the foul value?
    5 because you hit the blue first
    If the black goes in would it then b 7? No itís the first ball the white hits. Doesnít matter what happens after that"

    I am sure this last bit is incorrect; if the black is pocketed, the penalty would be the greater value of the two instances, so the penalty points would be 7.
    Up the TSF!

  • #2
    I am going to say that the initial statement is correct , as the foul was on the blue and that is the first foul . So would assume that whatever happens after that doesn't matter .
    Neil

    Comment


    • #3
      Hmm I always thought it would be foul 7

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally Posted by neil taperell View Post
        I am going to say that the initial statement is correct , as the foul was on the blue and that is the first foul . So would assume that whatever happens after that doesn't matter .
        scenario 1 - Missed ball on, hit Blue (a foul), then hit black (not a foul) - penalty 5
        scenario 2 - Missed ball on, hit Blue (a foul), then hit black and pocketed it (a foul) - penalty 7
        forcing the black off the table is a foul and a greater value foul than the initial blue hit, so greater penalty


        Rule 3.10 Penalties
        (b) value of the ball on or ball concerned, whichever is higher, by:
        (iii) causing a ball not on to enter a pocket;
        Last edited by DeanH; 8th August 2019, 02:00 PM.
        Up the TSF!

        Comment


        • #5
          Its 7. Highest of the fouls in a single stroke.

          Comment


          • #6
            So that scenario only counts when the ball is either pocketed or leaves the bed of the table , and ends up on the floor .
            Neil

            Comment


            • #7
              if you have multiple fouls in a single stroke, a penalty of four points occurs unless a higher value ball is concerned then the respective value is the penalty.

              hitting the black after the blue was not a foul, hitting the blue instead of the red was a foul

              pocketing the black is a foul, after hitting the blue which is also a foul but the black has a higher value so the higher penalty
              Up the TSF!

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally Posted by DeanH View Post

                scenario 1 - Missed ball on, hit Blue (a foul), then hit black (not a foul) - penalty 5
                scenario 2 - Missed ball on, hit Blue (a foul), then hit black and pocketed it (a foul) - penalty 7
                forcing the black off the table is a foul and a greater value foul than the initial blue hit, so greater penalty


                Rule 3.10 Penalties
                (b) value of the ball on or ball concerned, whichever is higher, by:
                (iii) causing a ball not on to enter a pocket;
                Correct. As usual!
                Duplicate of banned account deleted

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally Posted by neil taperell View Post
                  So that scenario only counts when the ball is either pocketed or leaves the bed of the table , and ends up on the floor .
                  Yes. The cue ball making contact with another ball after the first impact with a ball not on is irrelevant.

                  What happens after the initial contact with a ball not on only matters if a higher value ball is pocketed or forced off the table... or if the striker commits another foul (lie making contact with a ball not on with his cue, a rest etc).
                  Duplicate of banned account deleted

                  Comment

                  Working...
                  X