Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Foul question

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Londonlad147
    replied
    Originally posted by neil taperell View Post
    So that scenario only counts when the ball is either pocketed or leaves the bed of the table , and ends up on the floor .
    Yes. The cue ball making contact with another ball after the first impact with a ball not on is irrelevant.

    What happens after the initial contact with a ball not on only matters if a higher value ball is pocketed or forced off the table... or if the striker commits another foul (lie making contact with a ball not on with his cue, a rest etc).

    Leave a comment:


  • Londonlad147
    replied
    Originally posted by DeanH View Post

    scenario 1 - Missed ball on, hit Blue (a foul), then hit black (not a foul) - penalty 5
    scenario 2 - Missed ball on, hit Blue (a foul), then hit black and pocketed it (a foul) - penalty 7
    forcing the black off the table is a foul and a greater value foul than the initial blue hit, so greater penalty


    Rule 3.10 Penalties
    (b) value of the ball on or ball concerned, whichever is higher, by:
    (iii) causing a ball not on to enter a pocket;
    Correct. As usual!

    Leave a comment:


  • DeanH
    replied
    if you have multiple fouls in a single stroke, a penalty of four points occurs unless a higher value ball is concerned then the respective value is the penalty.

    hitting the black after the blue was not a foul, hitting the blue instead of the red was a foul

    pocketing the black is a foul, after hitting the blue which is also a foul but the black has a higher value so the higher penalty

    Leave a comment:


  • Neil Taperell
    replied
    So that scenario only counts when the ball is either pocketed or leaves the bed of the table , and ends up on the floor .

    Leave a comment:


  • Nifty50
    replied
    Its 7. Highest of the fouls in a single stroke.

    Leave a comment:


  • DeanH
    replied
    Originally posted by neil taperell View Post
    I am going to say that the initial statement is correct , as the foul was on the blue and that is the first foul . So would assume that whatever happens after that doesn't matter .
    scenario 1 - Missed ball on, hit Blue (a foul), then hit black (not a foul) - penalty 5
    scenario 2 - Missed ball on, hit Blue (a foul), then hit black and pocketed it (a foul) - penalty 7
    forcing the black off the table is a foul and a greater value foul than the initial blue hit, so greater penalty


    Rule 3.10 Penalties
    (b) value of the ball on or ball concerned, whichever is higher, by:
    (iii) causing a ball not on to enter a pocket;
    Last edited by DeanH; 8 August 2019, 01:00 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • jrc750
    replied
    Hmm I always thought it would be foul 7

    Leave a comment:


  • Neil Taperell
    replied
    I am going to say that the initial statement is correct , as the foul was on the blue and that is the first foul . So would assume that whatever happens after that doesn't matter .

    Leave a comment:


  • DeanH
    started a topic Foul question

    Foul question

    I saw this question:
    "if you miss a red hit a blue then the white hits the black. What is the foul value?
    5 because you hit the blue first
    If the black goes in would it then b 7? No it’s the first ball the white hits. Doesn’t matter what happens after that"

    I am sure this last bit is incorrect; if the black is pocketed, the penalty would be the greater value of the two instances, so the penalty points would be 7.
Working...
X